source of wide-ranging critical opinion on early literature; contains excerpts from criticism through the ages on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres; includes biography and textual history, bibliographies of the writer's works, criticism, suggested sources for further reading, and more
biographical information as well as critical analysis of key literary works; authors include a range of novelists, poets, short story writers, playwrights and other creative writers — from established authors to emerging new talent
critical coverage of the careers and works of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras; access a variety of important interpretations of historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals
contains information on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899; typical entries contain an introduction to the author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of further reading sources
A collection of e-books related to literature from the Oxford Online database. It includes titles such as: The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, etc.
entries contain an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading; comments from the poets themselves are included when available