Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Sources: Oral History - U.S.A.
- A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
- Click the title for location and availability information.
'Cause I'm Colored: The Black Heritage of Tazewell County (VA) by
Call Number: E185.93.V8 C38 2001
Oral History Interviews
First book to describe the African-American experience in the Appalachian Mountains of Virginia. Consists of oral histories, memoirs, and old photographs as well as selected data from public records.
African American Frontiers: Slave Narratives and Oral Histories by
Call Number: E444 .G68 2000
Includes 15 slave narratives, including those of William and Ellen Craft, Olaudah Equinao, and Harriet Tubman; seven WPA narratives from the Federal Writers' Project and 47 oral histories collected through interviews or from existing materials found in archives.
AIDS Doctors: Voices from the Epidemic by
Call Number: RA644.A25 B39 2000
"... this collective oral history based on interviews with 75 gay and straight physicians surveys the central medical and social issues of each era of the epidemic. "
Publisher's Weekly Review
The Appalachians: America's First and Last Frontier by
Call Number: F106 .A59 2004
"... excerpts from never-before-published diaries and journals; firsthand recollections from native Appalachians including Loretta Lynn, Ricky Skaggs, and Ralph Stanley; indigenous song lyrics and poetry; and oral histories from common folk whose roots run strong and deep."
Asian Americans by
Call Number: E184.O6 L44 1992
Oral Histories of First to Fourth Generation Americans from China, the Philippines, Japan, India, the Pacific Islands, Vietnam, and Cambodia
China Reporting: An Oral History of American Journalism in the 1930's and 1940's by
Call Number: DS777.533.P825 U65 1987
"In 1982, a group of reporters and diplomats who had been in China between 1930 and 1950 met in Scottsdale, Ariz., to discuss press coverage of events in those years. Among them were John Hersey, John Fairbank and Annalee Jacoby Fadiman. These excerpts from the conference transcript suggest that those attending generally praised what they perceived to be their objectivity and ability to overcome censorship. "
Civil Obedience by
Call Number: LC214.23.F39 A33 1995
An Oral History of School Desegregation in Fayetteville, Arkansas, 1954-1965
Coming Through by
Call Number: F277.W33 C66 2008
Voices of a South Carolina Gullah Community from WPA Oral Histories
Country Women Cope with Hard Times: A Collection of Oral Histories by
Call Number: HQ1438.S6 C68 2004
Through her edited interviews with these women, Melissa Walker provides firsthand descriptions of the influence of modernization on ordinary people struggling through the agricultural depression of the 1920s and 1930s and its aftermath. Their oral histories make plain the challenges such women faced and the self-sacrificing ways they found to confront hardship.
First Person America by
Call Number: E169 .F527
Eighty narratives originally recorded by members of the Federal Writers' Project.
Followers of the Trail: Jewish Working-Class Radicals in America by
Call Number: F128.9.J5 L47 1989
"Followers of the Trail, a Jewish leftwing workers' camp, was founded in upstate New York in 1929 by a group of immigrants, many of whom helped unionize New York City's garment and fur trades. Leviatin, a lecturer at Harvard whose four grandparents belonged to the camp, assembles scores of unpretentious reminiscences in this oral and photographic history." Publishers Weekly
Into the Jet Age by
Call Number: VG93 .I54 1995
Conflict and Change in Naval Aviation, 1945-1975: An Oral History
"Through the words of the men who were there and made it happen, this book tells the story of how change molded the aircraft carrier and thus all of naval aviation."
Lady Bird Johnson: An Oral History by
Call Number: E848.J64 A5 2012
"Over a span of eighteen years, Lady Bird Johnson recorded forty-seven oral history interviews with Michael Gillette and his colleagues. These conversations, just released in 2011, form the heart of 'Lady Bird Johnson: an oral history', an intimate story of a shy young country girl's transformation into one of America's most effective and admired First Ladies"
Living with Jim Crow by
Call Number: E185.61 .V35 2010
African American Women and Memories of the Segregated South
"... collects black women's personal recollections of their public and private lives during the period of legal segregation in the American South. Using first-person narratives, collected through oral history interviews, the book emphasizes women's role in their families and communities, treating women as important actors in the economic, social, cultural, and political life of the segregated South."
Our Appalachia: An Oral History by
Call Number: F217.A65 O93
"The whole history, past and present, of Appalachia is in this book in the words of the people most fit to tell it. The editors have done a superb job of arranging and commenting on the interviews—juxtaposing contrary opinions about issues as varied as strip-mining, traditional way and modern life, tourism and local politics, and the future of the whole region." -- New York Times Book Review
Remembering the Great Depression in the Rural South by
Call Number: F215 .B58 2007
"With this collection of more than 600 oral histories recalling the Great Depression, Bindas provides a detailed, personal chronicle of the 1930s from a rural Southern perspective and captures a historical era and its meaning. "
Speaking History: Oral Histories of the American Past, 1865-present by
Call Number: E661 .S64 2009
"American voices. Included here are fascinating, often moving accounts of everything from slavery to protest movements, world wars to work and leisure, forming a detailed mosaic of American life in the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries. "
Tower Stories: An Oral History of 9/11 by
Call Number: HV6432.7 .T69 2007
"Voices represented include police, firefighters, paramedics, reporters, volunteers, eyewitnesses, the bereaved of 9/11, World Trade Center structural engineers, political experts, political dissidents, and children who witnessed the events."
Up Before Daylight by
Call Number: F326 .U65 1982
Life Histories from the Alabama Writers' Project, 1938-1939
Woodstock: The Oral History by
Call Number: ML38.W66 M34 1989
"... this oral history offers page after page of commentary from a cross-section of those connected with it. After writing two pages of preface, Makower never again intervenes;..."
Search for More
- Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.
- Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)
- Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.