"... is a collection of life histories of women who have dedicated their lives to social and political activism. The project documents both the diversity and the persistence of women's activism, as organizers and as cultural workers, in a variety of social movements such as women's health, economic justice, LGBT liberation, peace, education, and environmental sustainability. Interviews were conducted by Smith College students in Kelly Anderson’s Smith College course, Oral History and Women's Activism in the Fall of 2008."
Transcripts available online
"The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients. "
A site designed by the Library of Congress, the center was "created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present" this great heritage of American folklife through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibition, publication, and training." Folklife reflects the culturally richness of the ordinary American through everyday life. It covers things from songs and stories to crafts. The Center includes the Archive of Folk Culture, established in the Library of Congress in 1928, which is "one of the largest collections of ethnographic material from the United States and around the world." The website provides an introduction to the American Folklife Center and its Archive of Folk Culture and provides information on programs, activities, online presentations, and the variety of other resources available for folklife research.
"For over forty years, Studs explored a variety of themes, from architecture to rock music, from poetry to the intricacies of the labor movement. Explore the archive by topic, people, date, or keyword."
"The Avery Research Center houses a variety of oral history interviews, largely documenting African American experiences in the Lowcountry. Oral history projects include the Avery Normal Institute documentation effort and the Sea Island Preservation Initiative."
A collection of the LowCounty Digital Library
A collection of oral histories provided by the University of Baltimore and related to "the urban disturbances of April 1968." Those interviewed include a family that lost their home and business, an African-American physician who defended his fledgling private practice, people who participated in the looting, several National Guardsmen, both black and white, as well as those of teachers, ministers, teenagers and housewives.
"Since its founding in 1970, the Institute for Oral History has collected over 5,500 interviews. The Institute has created transcripts of almost all interviews in the collection, and most of these transcripts are available to researchers and the public in PDF format. About half of the transcripts in the collection have been fully edited and compiled as finished oral memoirs, and the fully-searchable texts of all of these are available online. Draft versions of most of the remaining transcripts are also available online as searchable, full-text documents."
"The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 300 oral histories. Housed and maintained in the University Archives in Jackson Library [University of North Carolina Greensboro], the materials are a research collection for scholars of military history as well as women's studies."
"Although not segregated by law, in the 1950s and 60s whites and African Americans lived separate lives in the city of Yazoo, Mississippi. African American interviewees talk about their living conditions, education, jobs, and time in the military. Other topics include the role of the church in society, resistance to racial integration in public schools, racial discrimination in the workplace and fair employment opportunities, and the African American boycott of Yazoo's downtown shops in 1969. Also discussed in detail is an incident in 1955 where an NAACP petition was submitted to the White Citizens Council of Yazoo City, asking for complete desegregation of public schools."
"The Black Oral History Collection consists of interviews conducted by Quintard Taylor and his associates, Charles Ramsay and John Dawkins. They interviewed African American pioneers and their descendents throughout Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana, from 1972-1974. "
"The Black Women Oral History Project collection consists of audiotapes and transcripts of the oral histories of 72 African-American women from across the United States. The interviews discuss family background, marriages, childhood, education and training, significant influences affecting their choice of primary career or activity, professional and voluntary accomplishments, union activities, the ways in which being black and a woman had affected their options and the choices made. For each oral history, the interviewer cooperated with the memoirist to record as full an account of her life as possible."
"The oral history collections at the British Library cover a wide range of subject areas. The interviews made available here are only a small selection from the many thousands held in the British Library. - See more at: http://sounds.bl.uk/Oral-history#sthash.4GCGSBrb.dpuf"
"Initiated by the Pembroke Center Associates in 1982, these oral histories record the experiences of the women of Brown University and Pembroke College. This website features digitized interviews, transcripts, biographies, photographs, and other primary documents by and about women who attended Brown as early as 1907."
"Oral Histories Online, begun in the fall of 2002, brings selected interviews to the public in digital form. Approximately twenty interviews have been chosen from the fields of biology and environmental science. Over time, more interviews will be added to the site."
"In February of 2001, the Spokesman-Review produced a month long series of articles on black history titled "Through Spokane's Eyes Moments in Black History," focusing in particular on the civil rights movement of the 1960s. As part of that series, Rebecca Nappi conducted a series of interviews with individuals with ties to both the civil rights movement and to Spokane."
"This unique collection of oral histories provides an unprecedented perspective on the development of molecular biology, the present state of the science, and visions of the future by the leading scientists in the field."
"Collection of oral histories conducted or filmed by the Crossroads to Freedom team of Rhodes College. In these interviews members of the Memphis community discuss a range of topics including Stax Records, the Civil Rights Movement, the life and assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, education, integration, race relations, and local neighborhood histories. "
"... is a collection of life histories of women who identify as lesbian, bisexual, woman-identified-woman, queer, or who prefer not to identify with sexuality categories. The project provides a complex and nuanced collective story of American lesbian history and experience. Interviews were conducted by Smith College students in Kelly Anderson's 'Documenting Lesbian Lives' course in the spring of 2010 and 2011. "
Transcripts available online
"Since 1973, the Ellis Island Oral History project has been dedicated to preserving the first-hand recollections of immigrants who passed through the Ellis Island immigration station between 1892 and 1954 and the employees who worked there.
Over the years, the project has grown to include approximately 1900 interviews. The interviews include people from dozens of countries, former Immigration and Public Health Service employees, military personnel stationed at Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty as well as people detained at Ellis Island during World War II until it closed in 1954."
"The Everett R. Cook Collection includes interviews conducted from 1979-2004 as part of the Everett R. Cook Oral History Collection on Civil Rights, made available through a partnership with the Memphis Public Library. The interviews describe the Vollintine-Evergreen neighborhood and surrounding areas, civil rights work in Memphis, and the Mid-Memphis Improvement Association (MMIA). Interviewees discuss their personal experiences with different civil rights groups, such as the NAACP, as well as working with notable civil rights figures for civil rights advancement in Memphis. "
A collection of oral histories of women in government.
"... This website showcases selected materials from the A Few Good Women Collection at Penn State. A historical timeline and reports and documents from the era have been added to place the women's stories in historical context."
"In the summer of 1961, the Freedom Riders, a group of mostly young people, both black and white, risked their lives to challenge the system of segregation in interstate travel in the South. The purpose of the rides was "to test the Supreme Court's ruling in Boynton v. Virginia (1960), which declared segregation in interstate bus and rail stations unconstitutional" (CORE, 2006). In 2001, participants gathered in Jackson, MS to commemorate the fortieth-anniversary of the freedom rides. Of those that attended, forty-two participants were interviewed; those recordings are available in this collection."
"These interviews, which continue to be conducted, describe participants' efforts to pass the Equal Rights Amendment in the state of Georgia and relate to their participation in religious, political, and other organizations involved. Some interviews have been conducted with national figures and others on topics related to Georgia ERA ratification efforts.
This collection of digital objects is comprised of selected text and sound excerpts from each oral history interview. Each excerpt includes the name of the interviewee and the interviewer; the date of the interview and transcript information; a biography and interview abstract. Full transcripts may be accessed on-site in our Reading Room, or researchers may request copies. For more information on how to access a transcript, please read our Duplication Policies and Procedures or contact the Archivist."
"Documenting and preserving the stories of artists, architects, curators, critics, dealers, and collectors, these oral histories offer a firsthand account of the making and meaning of visual art. The Getty Research Institute holds over 1,000 oral history videos, audio recordings, and transcripts, each of which captures the voices of those who shaped the artistic landscape of the 20th and early 21st centuries. "
"From the stock market crash of 1929 to the beginnings of World War II, The Great Depression tells the dramatic and diverse stories of struggle and survival during the worst economic crisis in U.S. history. Originally debuting on PBS stations in 1993, the 7-part series was met with critical acclaim, winning an Emmy for writing and a duPont-Columbia Award. These interviews are part of the Henry Hampton Collection housed at the Film & Media Archive at Washington University Libraries. Each video and transcript represents the entire interview conducted by Blackside, Inc., including portions that did not appear in the final program."
"... aims to document the impact of the civil rights movement on area residents. This service-learning project was established in the fall of 2012 by CNU history professor Dr. Laura Puaca, in conjunction with her History 341 class, “The Long Civil Rights Movement.” Students enrolled in the class worked in pairs to prepare, conduct, and transcribe an interview with a member of the local community. The project was carried out under the auspices of CNU’s Center for Community Engagement and in collaboration with two community organizations, the Newsome House Museum and Cultural Center and the Downing-Gross Cultural Arts Center."
"The Hanashi Oral History Video Archive is the world's largest oral history collection of Japanese American World War II veterans' life histories. The archive contains keyword-searchable, professional-quality videos that students, teachers, researchers, and the general public can use to educate themselves and others on the life lessons inspired by the experiences of the Japanese American World War II veterans."
"The Houston Oral History Project is an effort to record and preserve the dynamic history of Houston through the stories and experiences of its residents. It is a collaboration among the Mayor’s Office, the Houston Public Library and the University of Houston. "
"Oral History Program conducted on behalf of the John F. Kennedy Library with the purpose to collect, preserve, and make available interviews conducted with individuals who have recollections of events and people associated with John F. Kennedy. " Contains over 1000 interviews; located at the JFK Presidential Library & Museum; some items have been made available online.
Access oral histories that are part of various digital collections such as: Baseball Commissioner Oral History Project, Robert Penn Warren Civil Rights Oral History Project, Horse Industry in Kentucky Oral History Project, etc.
"Krueger-Scott is the largest collection of oral history interviews conducted with African-American residents of Newark who came to the city during the Great Migration, as well as those whose local roots stretch back generations. The faculty, staff and graduate students at Rutgers University-Newark who have worked on the collection in collaboration with local cultural institutions are proud to have helped preserve, archive, and make public these remarkable oral narratives that describe an as yet unwritten history of twentieth century African-American life."
"Latah County was an exhilarating place to live at the beginning of the twentieth century. Residents of the county contended with wild animals, mob actions, economic upheaval, revenge murders, union struggles, mining and logging accidents, and various other challenges.." The collection contains digital audio recordings and transcripts of oral histories.
"This USF Libraries Oral History Project provides primary source material that emphasizes sexuality and gender identity-based cultures. The oral histories include first-hand experiences, everyday life, community, and common use terminologies. This is an open collection that will continue to be added to over time."
"The Nation's Forum recordings were made between 1918 and 1920 in an effort to preserve the voices of prominent Americans; in most cases, they are the only surviving recordings of a speaker. The project originated with St. Louis attorney Guy Golterman (1879-1967), an active supporter of the opera and other performing arts. With the endorsement of the Department of State's Committee on Public Information -- a governmental propaganda ministry -- the Nation's Forum sought speakers, and the Columbia Graphophone Company pressed and distributed the recordings under the Nation's Forum label."
"Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training at the Library of Congress makes available interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST). These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st.
Most of the interviews involve post-World War II diplomacy, from the late 1940s to the present day, but the collection also includes accounts of Americans involved in Iraq and Afghanistan after 2003. It also contains interviews from special projects on oral histories, including women ambassadors, minority officers, foreign assistance officers, labor specialists, and Foreign Service spouses. New interviews are continually being conducted and added to the collection."
"The recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-three interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement. It is important to note that all of the interviewees spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives that are reflected in these recordings. The individuals documented in this presentation have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond."
"The Military Oral History Collection spans the World War II era through recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan. All interview transcripts are presented in complete full-text format and many interviews also include online audio excerpts. The interview files and original recordings are housed in the VMI Archives. "
"The Mill Workers Oral Histories Collection consists of 41 audio tapes, 29 of which are transcribed, of interviews with employees of textile mills in the Columbus area. Most interviews have typed transcripts, though some are handwritten. The interviews were conducted as part of a class at Columbus State University in 1988. The subjects were employees of the Bibb Manufacturing Company, Swift Textiles, Inc. (Swift Manufacturing Company), Muscogee Manufacturing, Eagle and Phenix Mill, Meritas Mill, and many others. Most were employed at the mills between c. 1935 and the interview date in 1988." Select materials are available online.
Columbus State University: CSU Archives
"The Oregon Multicultural Archives (OMA) and OSU Queer Archives (OSQA) pro-actively reach out to African American, Asian American, Latino/a, and Native American communities, as well as LGBTQ+ people within OSU and Corvallis, to add their voices to the archives. In addition, both the OMA and OSQA collaborate with local community members and OSU students on projects to train them to conduct interviews and become active participants in creating a more diverse and inclusive historical record."
"...is an initiative taking place at NYPL branches that aims to document, preserve, and celebrate the rich history of the city's unique communities by collecting the stories of people who have experienced it firsthand."
The Notable New Yorkers Web site offers audio recordings and transcripts of interviews with ten influential New Yorkers, drawn from the collections of the Oral History Research Office of the Columbia University Libraries. These interviews, conducted by the Office between 1955 and 2001, open an imaginative portal into twentieth-century New York City and the ways in which it has deeply affected the culture and history of the United States and the world beyond. With three background essays and a briefer methodological introduction for each oral history, this site also provides a revealing look at the art of the biographical interview—a methodology developed by the Office over its four and a half decades of existence—in which individuals who have shaped history reflect upon their lives and accomplishments."
"Wisconsin Historical Society archivists interviewed 22 Holocaust survivors and two American witnesses between 1974 and 1981. These oral histories are now available digitally and in their entirety for the first time, uncensored and unfiltered."
"Oral histories provide important personal accounts of historical events. Over 100 oral histories are available on audio cassette in Perry Library's Special Collections. The majority of these materials are interviews with former and present administrators, faculty, and staff of Old Dominion University, compiled during research on various stages in the university's history. Additional interviews were conducted with members of the Tidewater community and others. More interviews will be added as they are conducted."
""Oral Histories of the American South" is a three-year project to select, digitize and make available 500 oral history interviews gathered by the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP). These 500 are being selected from a collection of over 4,000 interviews, housed at the Southern Historical Collection, that cover a range of fascinating topics. This project is made possible by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. " Part of the Documenting the American South Collection at UNC Chapel Hill
"... seeks to make this massive movement local and understandable by reducing it into its smallest parts—the people that participated, in small and large ways."
Part of the Documenting the American South Collection
"With over 4,800 interviews, the oral history collection continues to actively produce and collect oral history interviews that represent Missouri’s culture and history. Researchers will also find that the Society's oral history collection reaches well beyond the Show-Me State’s borders."
"The Youngstown State University Oral History Collection, begun in 1974, collects and preserves first-person narratives of northeastern Ohioans who have participated in, or closely observed events which have significantly affected both the state and nation. The Oral History Collection houses over eleven hundred interviews including personal narratives focusing on World War II, Vietnam, Youngstown College (University), Greek, Puerto Rican, Romanian, Russian and Italian culture, industry (steel, pottery, brick, labor relations, coal, and railroads), politics, the Holocaust, and religion."
The Truman Library has approximately 500 interviews supplementing the written record of Harry S. Truman's life and times. The interviews are available in transcript form and range in length from fewer than 10 to over 1,000 pages, with most being between 20 and 200 pages. Researchers may obtain through interlibrary loan only those oral histories that are not available online. Description from site
"This project includes interviews with returned Peace Corps volunteers and individuals associated with the Peace Corps with connections to Kentucky. Interviewees served in the Peace Corps from its inception in 1961 to the present. Volunteers discuss their experiences before, during, and after Peace Corps including their motivations for joining, the application process, training, living situations, difficulties, the job, relationships, coming home, and their impact on the host country and on their own lives."
"People & Stories has three ingredients: storytellers, interviewers, and recorders. Using these three simple elements, P&S seeks to facilitate deep conversation between community members and preserve previously undocumented history in a sharable, engaging way. People & Stories functions by training community members as volunteer interviewers who independently seek storytellers to interview. Copies of interviews are given to the participants, cataloged, added to the White Plains Collection, and made available at the Library and on our website."
"The Population and Reproductive Health Oral History Project, funded by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, includes accounts of individuals throughout the world who have made important contributions to the field. Reflecting the voices and perspectives of advocates, communication specialists, lawyers, managers, physicians, researchers, social workers and others, the series addresses the historical period 1965-2005. The Narrators page includes biographical sketches for each narrator, plus links to the full transcripts for most of narrators."
The Presidential Oral History Program is systematically and comprehensively debriefing the principal figures in the administrations of Presidents Carter, Reagan, George H. W. Bush, and Clinton, with plans to do the same for future presidents. We are also conducting special projects on important topics in political history, including a six-year oral history on the life and career of Senator Edward M. Kennedy.
"... has been documenting the history of the Central Coast of California and the institutional history of UC Santa Cruz since 1963, through oral history. This web site includes the complete catalog of our collection, oral history resources, and links to other oral history sites on the Internet. All of the oral histories are available in full text (PDF). "
"As a division of The Bancroft Library, the Regional Oral History Office preserves the history of the San Francisco Bay Area, California, and the Western United States. By conducting carefully researched, tape-recorded, and transcribed interviews, ROHO creates archival oral histories intended for the widest possible use."
"... is a collection of interviews concerning the Civil Rights movement and the socioeconomic, cultural, and political struggles of African Americans. Conducted in 1964 by Robert Penn Warren, a Kentucky native and the first poet laureate of the United States, these interviews constituted part of Warren's research for his book Who Speaks for the Negro? "
"... comprise the digital holdings of both the Samuel Proctor Oral History Program at the University of Florida and the Matheson Museum (Gainesville, Florida). Together, the Oral History Digital Collections document life in Gainesville, across Florida, the Caribbean and other locales." University of Florida Digital Collections
"The award-winning Samuel Proctor Oral History Program is the oral history program of the University of Florida. Since our founding in 1967, we have conducted nearly 7,000 interviews. More than 150,000 pages of transcribed material from these interviews may be found in the SPOHP archives and Digital Collections at the University of Florida."
"The Somos Latinas (We Women) History Project (2012-2016) was created to document the many significant and largely hidden contributions of Latinas in Wisconsin engaged in their communities to positively impact society in K-12 and post-secondary education, civil rights, women's rights, domestic abuse services, immigration reform, political representation, peace and justice, and other areas.
The online collection currently includes 52 interviews from 37 Latinas from across Wisconsin. NOTE: Additions and corrections to the collection are ongoing. You may encounter interviews without transcripts or transcripts that have not been fully edited."
"Collection of oral history recordings documenting the history of civil rights and social justice advocacy in Western Michigan. The collection was created by faculty and students as a project of the LIB 201 (formerly US 201): "Diversity in the U.S." course from 2011-2012."
StoryCorps is an independent nonprofit project whose mission is to honor and celebrate one another's lives through listening. Listen to some of the StoryCorps collection provided by National Public Radio.
"Terkel was remarkable in the depth of his personal knowledge of the diverse subjects explored on his program and his ability to get others to talk about themselves and what they do best. Many of the interviews he conducted for his books and for his radio program are featured here. "
"In the early 1970s the Suffragists Oral History Project, under the auspices of the Bancroft Library's Regional Oral History Office, collected interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement. Tape-recorded and transcribed oral histories preserved the memories of these remarkable women, documenting formative experiences, activities to win the right to vote for women, and careers as leaders of the movements for welfare and labor reform, world peace, and the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment. Now, 25 years later, the nineteenth century meets the twenty-first as the words of these activist women, born from the 1860s to the 1890s, are made accessible for future scholarly research and public information via the Internet. "
"The mission of the T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History is to collect and preserve, through the use of recorded interviews, unique and valuable information about Louisiana history that exists only in people's memories and would otherwise be lost. We accomplish this through interviews conducted by center staff, paid interviewers and volunteers, and by encouraging and assisting those who wish to carry out their own oral history projects."
Collections available cover: Civil Rights, Military History, Political History and more.
"Special Collections at the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries provides public access to hundreds of oral history transcripts in its University of Nevada Oral History Archives. Most of the oral histories in the archives were recorded by the University of Nevada Oral History Program from 1964 through 2013. Oral histories from other sources are part of the digital archives, including several relating to the Stewart Indian School, Reno's Midtown, and Fourth Street/Prater Way. Original audio recordings of most interviews are available for research purposes upon request. High-resolution copies of photographs from transcripts can also be requested from Special Collections at firstname.lastname@example.org."
"The Oral History Digital Collection contains a selection of interview transcripts produced by the Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage at The University of Southern Mississippi. Currently, a majority of the interviews in the collection document the Civil Rights movement in Mississippi. Transcripts of additional oral history interviews are available in McCain Library & Archives. "
"The Uprising of '34 is a documentary film, released in 1995, that tells the story of the General Textile Strike from the perspective of those who experienced it firsthand. During the film's production, over 300 hours of interviews were conducted with former mill workers, their children and grandchildren, labor organizers, mill owners, and others who experienced or were affected by the strikes. The recorded interviews are held in Georgia State University Library's Special Collections and Archives."
"The USF Libraries Oral History Program creates and disseminates original interviews using state of the art digital technologies via the Internet. Few libraries in the world produce and showcase their oral history materials with comparable access. These primary sources complement library collections, providing one-of-a-kind materials for scholars exploring a variety of local, national, and international issues. Through streaming audio and printable transcripts provided via the Internet, patrons around the world can mine this rich resource to research the Program’s areas of emphasis: Urban Development and Sustainability; Holocaust, Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity; and Culture and Identity."
"A collection of more than 1000 oral histories from the holdings of UTSA Libraries Special Collections. The bulk of the interviews in this collection are part of the Institute of Texan Cultures Oral History Collection."
"The Oral History collection currently consists of two sub-collections: the Vassar College LGBTQ Oral History Project (including interviews conducted as part of Spring 2013 Women's Studies Class WMST 219, "Queering the Archives") and the Vassar College ANTH-AFRS 386 Oral History Project."
"... a collection of audio files of interviews with prominent individuals associated with VCU, presented as MP3 files with complete PDF transcriptions. These oral histories were collected by VCU Libraries in an attempt to capture information otherwise unavailable to researchers, supplement our rich documentary research collections, and learn more about how to create, store, and give access to these unique resources. "
"The Vermont Folkife Center (VFC) Digital Archive is the online access point for research collections from the VFC Archive. The collections include digitized audio, video, images and manuscript materials from the VFC Archive, as well as born-digital field research materials generated by VFC staff and donors."
Access first hand accounts from U.S. war vetrans. It currently covers the following: WWI (1914-1920), WWII (1939-1946), Korean War (1950-1955), Vietnam War (1961-1975), Persian Gulf War (1990-1995), Afghanistan and Iraq Conflicts (2001-). Accounts are also provided by U.S. civilians who participated in the war effort (USO workers, war industry workers, etc.)
"The mission of the Vietnam Center at Texas Tech University is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia. Its functions are threefold: support for the Vietnam Archive and the collection and preservation of pertinent historical source material; promotion of education through exhibits, classroom instruction, educational programs, and publications; and encouragement of related scholarship through organizing and hosting conferences and symposia, academic, educational, and cultural exchanges, and the publishing of scholarly research."
"VOAHA enables you to access the full audio recordings of oral histories that have been deposited in Special Collections of the University Library. You can hear the voice, pitch, and rhythm of the narrations as well as the emotions these convey. You will hear the actual spoken words of oral history narrators, rather than seeing a written version of them in the form of a transcript. The CSULB oral history collections have been assembled from a number of sources and cover topics ranging from women's social history, labor and ethnic studies to Long Beach Area history and the musical developments in Southern California. Some of the interviews in the Asian American, Mexican American and women's history collections were recorded as early as 1972 and include interviews with narrators who were born in the mid to late 19th century. Presently, more than 1000 hours with 350 very diverse narrators are available online."
"... an online presentation of selections from a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting the everyday life of residents of Farm Security Administration (FSA) migrant work camps in central California in 1940 and 1941."
"The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs collected by the "Voices of Civil Rights" project, a collaborative effort of AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR), and the Library of Congress, and marks the arrival of these materials in the Library's collection."
"The Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Narrators include labor, peace, and anti-racism activists; artists and writers; lesbian rights advocates; grassroots anti-violence and anti-poverty organizers; and women of color reproductive justice leaders. Interviews average 5-6 hours and cover childhood, personal life, and political work."
"... produced by the Virginia Civil Rights Movement Video Initiative, a non-profit organization incorporated in 2002 to produce videotaped oral histories of leaders of the Civil Rights movement in Virginia. "
""Voices of the Manhattan Project" is a joint project by the Atomic Heritage Foundation and the Los Alamos Historical Society to create a public archive of our oral history collections of Manhattan Project veterans and their families."
"The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living. Members of every tribe resident in Oklahoma were interviewed."
"The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection ranges from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life in the region."
"Explore the rich cultural and historical history of Kentucky's Appalachian region by exploring our collections of oral interviews. Resources include audio, PDF transcripts, images, and more. Looking to go deeper? Check out our Digital Collections Project for a wide variety of images and printed materials, many of them available digitally for instant access!"
"The Winkler Center Oral History Collection includes over 70 video-recorded interviews with prominent health professionals documenting the history of medicine not only at the University of Cincinnati, but also in the city of Cincinnati and surrounding area. Interviewees include notable physicians, scientists, university deans, department chairmen, faculty, etc. The Winkler Center’s oral history program is ongoing, so please check back, as new interviews are made available regularly."
"As part of her Washington State University History 398 classes, professor Sue Armitage asked her students to conduct oral history interviews with women who had spent their early lives in the Pacific Northwest. Totaling over 230 hours of audio, this collection holds nearly 200 of these interviews, originally recorded between 1979 and 2005. The majority of the women interviewed were born between 1881 and the early 1930s, and the collection provides invaluable first hand documentation regarding the role of women in the northwest during the early and mid 1900s."
"World War II Valor in the Pacific National Monument, Pearl Harbor is located in Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, on the island of Oahu in the State of Hawai'i. " The site provides access to various oral histories and documents.