"This database contains transcripts of the onstage acceptance speeches given by Academy Award winners and acceptors. Some records include video clips. The database is a work in progress**; additional speeches will be added as they become available."
"The Nation's Forum recordings were made between 1918 and 1920 in an effort to preserve the voices of prominent Americans; in most cases, they are the only surviving recordings of a speaker. The project originated with St. Louis attorney Guy Golterman (1879-1967), an active supporter of the opera and other performing arts. With the endorsement of the Department of State's Committee on Public Information -- a governmental propaganda ministry -- the Nation's Forum sought speakers, and the Columbia Graphophone Company pressed and distributed the recordings under the Nation's Forum label."
"... an online archive of British political speech and a place for the discussion, analysis, and critical appreciation of political rhetoric" It includes the "texts of speeches given by Conservative, Labour and Liberal/Liberal Democrat Party leaders going back to 1895."
"Welcome to Wyzant's Audio History section! Here, you can listen to famous speeches made by influential leaders of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. We're offering original audio tapes of how JFK dealt with the Cuban Missile Crisis. You can also hear Dr. Martin Luther King's famous "I Have a Dream" speech. Use these resources to bring history and politics alive! Listening to these historically famous speeches out loud can be truly inspirational for both students and educators alike. In addition to the original audio of the speeches, you will also find transcriptions beneath the audio player, so that you can follow along as you hear some of the world's greatest speakers address political issues of the 1900s and 2000s. "
"The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."
The site from the U.S. National Park Service provides access to photographs from the Thomas Edison National Historical Park collection of 60,000 images. It also provides access to a selection of Edison sound recordings in MP3 format.
"Public speech making has played a powerful role in the long struggle by African Americans for equal rights. This collection, for the ear and the eye, highlights speeches by an eclectic mix of black leaders."
"The Vincent Voice Library is a collection of primary source sound material, found mainly in speech, interview, lecture and performance formats. It is the largest academic voice library in the United States and is part of the Michigan State University Libraries." Some of the recordings are available online.
"The Voices of Democracy project is designed to promote the study of great speeches and public debates. The emphasis of the project is on the actual words of those who, throughout American history, have defined the country’s guiding principles, debated the great social and political controversies of the nation’s history, and shaped the identity and character of the American people. " It is run by the University of Maryland