Skip to main content

Getting Started Guide: Grants: The Foundation Directory Users' Guide

Foundation Direcotry Users' Guide

The Foundation Directory

Users’ Guide

 

 

The Foundation Directory Online provides access to information regarding 98,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant-making public charities; 1.7 million recently awarded grants; and 3,400 corporate grantmakers, as well as approximately 500,000 IRS 990 forms filed by private foundations and grantmaking public charities.  

To access the database:

 

1.  Come to Trible Library’s reference desk.

2.  Tell the reference librarian on duty that you would like to use the Foundation Directory.

3.  You will be logged in to the database by the reference librarian.                   

4.  Choose search method from those listed below.

5.  Please remember to click “logoff” upon completing your search session.

 

Search Types:

1. Grantmakers: Indexed searching for grant providers.

2. Companies: Indexed searching for corporate grantmakers.

3. Grants: Indexed searching for names/types of grants.

4. 990s: Indexed searching for IRS 990 forms.

5. Power Search: Searches all fields at once.

6. Keyword Search: Allows user to enter descriptive keywords within each type of search.

 

Sample Searches:  (from FDO search tutorials)

1.                  Searching for grants by grantmaker name (index search in Grantmaker module)

 

Question: How can I search for grants made by a particular grantmaker, such as the Ford Foundation?

Answer: Conduct a Grantmaker Name index search.

 

Follow these steps:

1.     Open the Grantmaker Name Index by clicking on the View Index link located beneath its search field title on the Search Grants Screen.

2.       At the top of the Index Pane, click "F" to display all grantmaker names beginning with the letter "F."

3.       Scroll down to find the index entry for "Ford Foundation, The." Click on it to automatically insert it into the Grantmaker Name search field.

4.       Click Search. The Grant Search Results Screen appears and displays a list of grant records matching your search criteria.

5.       Click on a recipient name to open the Grant Record Display Screen and view the record.

 

2. Searching for grants by recipient type and types of support (index search in Grants module)

Question: How can I search for grants made to recipients involved with education for faculty development?

 Answer: Combine a Recipient Type index search with a Types of Support index search.

Follow these steps:

1.         Open the Recipient Type Index by clicking on the View Index link located beneath its search field title on the Search Grants Screen.

2.         At the top of the Index Pane, click "E" to display all recipient type terms beginning with the letter "E."

3.          Scroll down to find the index entry for "Education." Click on it to automatically insert it into the Recipient Type search field.

4.          Open the Types of Support Index by clicking on the View Index link located beneath its search field title on the Search Grants Screen.

5.           Scroll down to find the index entry for "Faculty/staff development." Click on it to automatically insert it into the Types of Support search field.

6.            Click Search. The Grant Search Results Screen appears and displays a list of grant records matching your search criteria.

7.             Click on a recipient name to open the Grant Record Display Screen and view the record.

 

3.  Searching for grants by grantmaker state and variations of keywords (index search, keyword search, wildcard search in Grantmaker module)

Question: How can I conduct a very broad search for grants made by grantmakers located in New York for the arts?

Answer: Combine a Grantmaker State index search with a keyword search using the asterisk wildcard character.

Follow these steps:

1.           Open the Grantmaker State Index by clicking on the View Index link located beneath its search field title on the Search Grants Screen.

2.            Scroll down to find the index entry for "New York." Click on it to automatically insert it into the Grantmaker State search field.

3.             In the Keyword Search field, type art*.

4.             Click Search. The Grant Search Results Screen appears and displays a list of grant records matching your search criteria.

5.             Click on a recipient name to open the Grant Record Display Screen and view the record.

 

Helpful Hints:

 

1.                Less is more.  Begin with simpler searches, using one or two search fields, and then refine further if you get too many hits.

 

2.               Check the “Update Central” section of the FDO homepage (left side) for new additions to the database.

 

3.               While there is no separate module for keyword searching, keyword searching may be combined with index searching in any of the modules.  

4.          Use "Power Search" to access all nine databases at once. 

 

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.