Skip to main content

Getting Started Guide: Grants: Directory of Virginia Foundations Users' Guide

Directory of Virginia Foundations Users' Guide

The Directory of Virginia Foundations provides information on more than 1,000 private, corporate, and community grantmaking foundations in Virginia, plus selected grantmakers in surrounding states who provide significant grant funding within Virginia.  The database is updated weekly.

 

            To access the database:

 

                 1.   Come to the library. (The licensing agreement requires in-library-use only).

2.      Go to http://www.grantsconnection.com.

3.      Have the reference librarian on duty enter user name/password information for you.

4.      You will see the main search screen.

Searching:

1.      Choose a search method:

               a. View All Foundations search will display an alphabetical list of all foundations in the database, along with their total assets.

b. Grants Search will provide details of grants given by foundations. Grants may be searched by grant value, foundation city, recipient city, trustee name, trustee city, types of support, text (keyword), singly or in combination.            

c. Foundation Search provides details regarding the foundations themselves, rather than the grants they provide. Foundations may be searched by foundation name, foundation city, grant deadlines, total assets, total giving, trustee name, type of support, and text (keyword).   

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.