"Dr. Albert B. Sabin, developer of the oral poliovirus vaccine, spent the majority of his career at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and the Children's Hospital Research Foundation. His vaccine helped to virtually eliminate polio around the world."
"Philanthropist, nurse, educator, and lecturer. Correspondence, diaries, reports, legal and financial papers, organizational records, lectures, writings, scrapbooks, printed matter, memorabilia, and other papers relating to Barton's work to provide relief services during the Civil War and the Franco-Prussian War, the work of the American National Red Cross which she founded, and the National First Aid Association of America."
"Twenty two archive collections relating to genetics research and biochemistry have been digitised. The content ranges in date from 1863 to 2008, and includes collections from Wellcome Library and our partner institutions."
"The Florence Nightingale Digitization Project began in 2014 as a collaborative effort between the Florence Nightingale Museum in London, England, the Boston University Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center, the Royal College of Nursing and the Wellcome Library. More collaborative partners are in the process of joining the Project. Together, these institutions have compiled their holdings into a collaborative database consisting currently of more than 2,300 letters handwritten or narrated by Florence Nightingale that for the first time are now available to researchers through a single source."
"The Global Health Chronicles is a collection of materials on public health efforts to prevent, control and eradicate global disease. A collaboration between the David J. Sencer CDC Museum at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and Emory University, the site was designed for a range of users, from casual readers to serious researchers. Users may access new and rarely-seen materials through this searchable database."
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.
Historical Collections & Services is dedicated to the preservation and presentation of the history of the health sciences at the University of Virginia and around the world.
We invite you to visit us in person at the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library and explore our content online through web exhibits, archival finding aids, and the University of Virginia Visual History Photograph Collection. Historical Collections also co-sponsors the Medical Center Hour Lecture Series, which is available on YouTube. Like us on Facebook to stay up to date on our lectures, events, and exhibits!"
"Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides online access to over 70,000 digitized images of the approximate 100,000 items from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Prints and Photographs collection."
A collection of medical related movies that have been digitized and made available by the National Library of Medicine. Films cover diseases such as tuberculosis, leprosy, mental health, sexually transmitted disease etc. Films are dated from 1918 - 2006.
OHSU Digital Commons is a repository for the scholarly and creative work of Oregon Health & Science University. Developed by the OHSU Library, Digital Commons provides the university community with a platform for publishing and accessing content produced by students, faculty, and staff. OHSU Digital Commons documents the history and growth of the university, as well as current progress in education, research, and health care.
"The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is making the archival collections of leaders in biomedical research and public health available on its Profiles in Science web site. ... Many of the collections have been donated to NLM and contain published and unpublished items, including books, journal volumes, pamphlets, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, audiotapes, video clips, and other materials."
The Surgeon General's office oversees the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service, it is a part of the Office of Public Health and Science, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Surgeon General is appointed by the President, confirmed by the Senate, and serves a 4 year term. The website provides access to information from the Surgeon General including speeches, testimony to Congress, reports, publications, and more.
"The Winkler Center Oral History Collection includes over 70 video-recorded interviews with prominent health professionals documenting the history of medicine not only at the University of Cincinnati, but also in the city of Cincinnati and surrounding area. Interviewees include notable physicians, scientists, university deans, department chairmen, faculty, etc. The Winkler Center’s oral history program is ongoing, so please check back, as new interviews are made available regularly."
"Includes primary source documents such as guidelines, policy documents, and study findings on the topics covered that provide readers with more in-depth information and help students hone their critical thinking and analytical skills"
“... draws together significant U.S. and international primary source documents—including excerpts from newspaper articles, speeches, relevant treaties and other legal documents, and scientific reports.”
"This riveting collection of articles tracks the opioid crisis from its earliest days through the present, aggregating human interest stories with news stories on how the government and public are responding to the epidemic. "
Search for More
Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.
Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)
Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.