ENGL 223: What Tolkien Read: Library Databases and the Online Catalog

Subscriber: VIVAIncludes: Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature related titles); Literature Resource Center - LRC; Scribner Writer Series; Twayne's Authors Series

Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.

Subjects: English (Literature & Linguistics), Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures, Theater, HistoryVendor: The Literary Dictionary Company LimitedSubscriber: CNUIncludes basic data on over 6986 people, covers over 31124 works, and lists 16492 historical and literary events. Additionally there are lists of important secondary readings, links to internet resources, as well as timelines and chronologies.

"Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography."

Subscriber: VIVACovers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Provides access to the full-text/full-image of articles.

Multiple databases, including dissertations, combined into one search.

Subjects: Multisubject DatabaseVendor: OCLC FirstSearchSubscriber: VIVACatalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Many of these materials are available for CNU students, faculty and staff by using the library's interlibrary loan service. Or get a VTC card to check books out from local colleges and universities.