Primary Sources: Slavery & Abolition: Periodicals

1833

1827-1828

vols. 1-68

1834

1854-1855

1859

No. 1-6, 1836-1838
No. 7-14, 1838-1845

1835
1836
1837

Series 1: Nos. 1-20, 1855-1856
Series 2: Nos. 1-14, 1860
Series 2: Nos. 15-25, 1861

"...the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the US"Digital version provided by the Wisconsin Historical Society.

"is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements." The collection is provided by Cornell University and includes 281 issues, published from 1836 - 1842.

"This database contains 828 indexed articles (436 which are provided in full-text) which appeared between 1831 and 1855 in William Garrison's abolitionist newspaper The Liberator. These articles were chosen as potentially useful to the research of civic engagement through voluntary assocations among both African-American and white Bostonians during the antebellum period. The resulting database is provided to complement our biographical database of African Americans in Beacon Hill and the West End, 1848-1853." primaryresearch.org

The Liberator was a weekly newspaper published by William Lloyd Garrison in Boston, Massachusetts. William Lloyd Garrison was born in Newburyport, Massachusetts in December, 1805. At thirteen years of age he began his newspaper career with the Newburyport Herald, where he acquired great skills in both accuracy and speed in the art of setting type. He also wrote anonymous articles, and at the age of twenty-one began publishing his own newspaper.

"This is a collection of items which appear in THE LIBERATOR, a Boston-based Abolitionist newspaper, published under the editorship of William Lloyd Garrison, who lived from 1805–1879.

The assembled items represent only a tiny portion of what appeared in the 1,803 editions of the paper, published weekly from 1831-1865. . The source of the collection has been Garrison’s copies of THE LIBERATOR., access to which has been granted and facilitated by the Boston Public Library, Rare Books."

vols. 1-34

National Anti-Slavery Standard was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, an abolitionist society founded in 1833 by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan to spread their movement across the nation with printed materials. Frederick Douglass was a key leader of this society and often addressed meetings at its New York City headquarters.

1846
1847
1848
1849
1850
1853-1854

v.1-2 1835-1837
v.1 1835-1836
v.2 1836-1837

v. 1 Oct. 1835
v. 2 Oct. 1836 - July 1837

1855-1858

1836-1837