"Collections of primary resources compatible with the Common Core State Standards — historical documents, literary texts, and works of art — thematically organized with notes and discussion questions."
"ARW creates documentaries, series projects, podcasts and online content for the public radio system and the Internet. Extensive online documentaries accompany all ARW radio projects, providing background, original photography, interactive elements and streaming audio of the radio documentaries."
This site provides information about new reports from government agencies, think tanks, ngo's and other groups. The postings are arranged by subject or date and a search feature is provided. It covers a wide variety of topics.
Designed to present history "through the eyes of those who lived it." The site is provided by Ibis Communications, Inc. (http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/ibis.htm), a publisher of educational programming. Browse the site by category to find information. The site also includes some audio recordings designed to be listened to using RealPlayer. There is an index of the site and it can also be searched.
Google's book digitization project provides access to a vast online collection of books, many are completely full-text. Others are limited to a preview or publication information only.
To limit the search to only items with the full view, use the the Free Google ebooks link on the left side of the screen after completing a search or use the advanced search and select Full View
Archive of news older than 30 days. Some items may be free for articles requiring a fee, CNU Students, Faculty & Staff should check the Journal Finder Database to find articles available from CNU.
Articles not available from CNU can be requested via Interlibrary Loan
"The most comprehensive and well-researched anthology of all time comprises both the 50-volume “5-foot shelf of books” and the the 20-volume Shelf of Fiction. Together they cover every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject through the twentieth century."
A part of the A&E television networks, this site provides information on History Channel programming. The site includes a "History of the World Timeline" and a "This Day in History/What Happened on Your Birthday" features. Historical video and audio clips are available, a discussion area, information for teachers, and weekly quizzes can also be found on the site.
"... are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use." The site is by Dr. Paul Halsall. The site provides access to a variety of resources.
The project provides images of the following journals from the 18th and 19th Centuries: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine. The journals may be searched or browsed.
A resource designed to help users locate internet based information on Latin America. It is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
"This site features links to online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials. The scope is international and multi-lingual." Provided by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
"this re-creation of PT Barnum’s American Museum as a lens into mid-19th century New York City and antebellum America. The Lost Museum website offers visitors a visualization and spacial interpretation of this extraordinary institution as well as an innovative way to learn and teach about the many issues and events of the period. "
"OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors."
"The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all." The site was developed and is maintained by John Mark Ockerbloom of the Univeristy of Pennsylvania. The site provides an index to over 20,000 works in various formats available on the internet. It also includes a list of links to large, general, mostly English language digitzed collections.
Developed to support the move towards Open Access research. The site provides searching and browsing functions for users to locate a variety of Open Access research archives. The entries provide information on the location, subjects covered, url and a description of the facility.
"The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities." Users can search for videos or browse by a number of categories: Genre, Duration, Color, Sound, or Collections. Information is provided about the video along with a link to download it. Videos may require browser plug-ins for viewing.
This site is provided by the Paris Review. It provides free access to interviews with over 300 writers. Available years begin in the 1950's. Access the interviews through a search feature, or browse by date or alphabetically by last name.
Provided by the Library of Congress and designed for teachers this site provides access to easy to print pdf documents on a variety of topics. The sets are designed to target American History, but ones such as the Hispanic Exploration set may prove useful to researchers studying World History.
One of the earliest internet projects to digitize and provide access to electronic books and texts for free. Begun in 1971 by Michael Hart who was joined by volunteers who shared his vision that "it would be a really good idea if lots of famous and important texts were freely available to everyone in the world." Gutenberg can be searched or browsed. Books on Gutenberg cover a wide range of topics, languages and dates. "Most of the Project Gutenberg eBooks are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded and read, and redistributed for non-commercial use (for complete details, see the license page)." Those interested in volunteering can find information on the site on how to become involved with the project.
Compiled by Terry Abraham at the University of Idaho. This site is "a listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar." Links are divided geographical by the location of the repository.
"Each month, a specific collection from the Library of Congress American Memory Collections will be highlighted and ideas of how to implement the items within the collection in the classroom will be provided."