Skip to main content

Multimedia Links: Content for Learning

Vetted and collected links!

Collected Media Links

Here are links that will take you to digital libraries full of content and web tools to help in the classroom and beyond.  Each link has been hand-picked and evaluated as useful for students and faculty alike.  The focus is on video, photographs, and audio tools.  The majority of the content is free to view and use.  If you have anything you would like us to consider adding, please email us.

Tools for Educators

Animaps
This site allows you view and create animated maps. You can tag maps with pictures, captions, and markers that move on cue.

Appear.in
Create a free chat room and invite up to 8 users.  No registration required.

Aviary
Aviary is a photo editor for web and mobile devices.

BibMe   
BibMe is a website for creating a works cited page. You can search for a book, article, website or film and it automatically generates the information for you. You can also enter in the information yourself if you have it on hand.

Bubbl.us   
Use Bubbl.us to create colorful online mind maps.

Canva
Create and share designs for printing or for the web.  Free but has a paid option.

Cramberry   
Use Cramberry to create, study, and share your flashcards online. You can download the Cramberry app on your iPhone, iPod Touch or iPad to access your flashcards on-the-go. It’s nice because it analyzes your progress and shows you cards that you need to focus on.

Create-a-Graph   
Use Create-a-Graph to make attractive graphs for free. Choose from bar, line, area, pie and simple XY coordinate graphs.

Diigo   
Highlight text and images on web pages that you’ve found and then access them at a later date from your Diigo account. You can also create sticky notes if you need to write additional comments. When you return to the website, all of the annotations you made are still there.

Dipity   
With Dipity, you can find, create and embed interactive timelines. You can add photos to customize the look of each timeline.

Disapainted
Animate basic web-based paint drawings. 

Duolingo
Free and science-based language learning.  Games and lessons to assist with learning.

Easel.ly
A theme-based web app for creating infographics and visualizations. Easel.ly provides  several themes as a starting point to your infograpgic. Then you can drag, edit, save, and share, to create an inforgraphic that's appealing to the eye. 

EasyBib   
Use EasyBib to automatically generate works cited and bibliography information for academic papers using MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian citation styles.

Flickr   
Flickr is a free image hosting service that allows you to access your files from any computer with an Internet connection.

Edmodo
Edmodo is a social network created for safely connecting students and teachers.

Edshelf
Edshelf is a site where teachers can find new digital tools for use in the classroom.

FLVTO
Convert Youtube clips to MP3s.

Forvo   
Forvo is the world’s largest pronunciation dictionary in many languages.

Gickr
This website allows you to create free animated images.

Gliffy   
Create attractive and professional graphic organizers like Venn diagrams and flow charts. To receive full access to their services, you have to pay for it.  Free to use and export files.

Google Docs
Create, share and collaboratively edit documents using a Google account.

Google in Education - Lesson Plans
Search for thousands of lesson plans with a powerful Google search.  All areas are covered in this educational resource.

Grammarly
Grammarly is a user friendly way to improve a paper. Simply copy and paste text into the box and click “check text.” Within 30 seconds, it provides a detailed analysis that includes 150 different grammar rules, plagiarism, word choice and more. Grammarly is a premium service but you can sign up for a free 7 day trial.

Hypothes.is
Annotate any webpage and share for free. Collaborate on annotations.  Part of annotatorjs.org.

Infogr.am
Create infographics using more than 30 chart types, and have the ability to download them as pdf files. If your infographic contains sensitive data, you can create a password to make it viewable to whoever you wish.

Instapaper
Instapaper is a tool you pin to your browser that allows you to save web pages to read later on any device that you download the app to.

Keepvid
Keepvid is a website that allows you to download and save YouTube videos for free.  Requires updated Java.  Has a bookmarklet.

Knight Cite
KnightCite is an online citation generator.

LiveJournal
This is another social network where users post blog posts or journal entries onto their own profile. Other users may read the entries of any user.

Penzu   
Penzu is home to what is probably the most realistic imitation of lined paper on the internet. This online journal is accessible from any computer with the internet.

Piktochart
Piktochart allows you to create inforgraphics in a 3 step process, and it's free to use. If you decide to upgrade your account you will gain access to more graphics, higher resolution, and more themes.

Pinterest
Pinterest is a social networking site that allows its users to "pin" content to their "pinboards." Members who "follow" the user can see his or her pins.

PlagSpotter
This tool is used to find duplicates of text in order to detect plagiarism.

Pocket
Save items you come across on the web to read for later.  Has an app and applet for your browser.

Podomatic   
Create and upload your own podcast or find a variety of free podcasts on Podomatic.

Poll Everywhere
An easy polling site that allows for mobile and on screen classroom response.  Results can be shown in real time.  The free version limits the responses to 25 seats.

Popplet
Popplet is a place for sharing ideas on boards with collaborators. Upload pictures, text boxes, and other things to mind maps.

Portaportal
Portaportal is a server-based online bookmarking tool. It serves the same functions as your bookmarks on your browser, but it stores the bookmarks in the server so you can access them on any computer with Internet.

Prezi   
Prezi is a cloud-based presentation program that allows you to zoom in and out. If you don’t mind your slides being public, you can sign up for a free account with 100MB of storage.

Primary Pad   
PrimaryPad is an online word processor that allows people to work together in real time.

Quizlet
Create study aids for yourself or to share with friends.

Screencast-O-Matic   
Screencast-O-Matic is an online screen recorder with a one-click recording feature. You can use it from your browser on either a Windows or Mac computer. You can video up to 15 minutes in length for free.

Screenr   
Screenr is one of the best instant screencast tools available. It’s free and you can record on your PC or Mac, play it anywhere—even on your iPhone—and there’s nothing to download (as long as you have JAVA installed on your computer).

Skype
Skype is a tool for free video chatting with one person or for conference calls around the world.

SlideShare   
SlideShare is one of the most popular ways to upload and share PowerPoint presentations and other documents.

Socrative
This web 2.0 tool uses cell phones and/or laptops to gather feedback from others. You can post as many questions as you’d like.

Storybird
With Storybird you can create short, art-inspired stories you can share with the world through the Internet.

SurveyMonkey   
Create and publish your own online survey or quiz in minutes. You can make 10-question surveys with 100 respondents for free.

Tagul
Tagul is a website where you can create word clouds, like Wordle. The difference is that Tagul tags links to the words, either from your website or from the general web.

Tagxedo
Create stylish word clouds.  Uses the Silverlight plugin.

Tricider   
Tricider is great for online brainstorming and voting. You can even embed and share your topic which makes it easy to get responses.

TubeChop
TubeChop allows you to easily cut a section from a YouTube video for use in other mediums.

Tumblr
Tumblr is a micro-blogging social networking website. Users can post multimedia and other content to their blog, follow the posts of others, and re-post other bloggers' posts.

UStream
UStream allows you to upload and watch live streaming videos, chat live with others, and follow tweets and Facebook posts.  

Ventusky
See weather patterns in real-time all over the world.

Visual.ly   
Visual.ly helps you take data visualizations to the next level, by allowing you to upload yours for feedback and exposure, all the while working with  the Visual.ly team. They can even create your project for you for a fee.

VoiceThread
This is a website that allows you to host and save group voice conversations. A VoiceThread is a slideshow that incorporates these group conversations. You can attach images, documents, and videos to your VoiceThread

WhatBird
This is a search engine to find any species of bird found in North America. Its interface makes it easier to use than many other bird search engines.  Listen to bird calls and use the search engine to narrow down the bird you seek.

Wordle
Create beautiful word clouds from text that you provide. Like Tagxedo, it gives prominence to words that appear most frequently. You can save, print and share your creation.

WordPress   
WordPress is a blogging platform that allows you a lot of versatility in the kind of content you can offer. It’s free to sign up and start a blog.

Zamzar
Zamzar is a free website that will convert any type of file into any other type of file, assuming it is the same type of file. You can convert document files, sound files, video files, images files, and e-book files.

 

Content for Knowledge Building

Collected Links


 

Academic Earth
Academic Earth is a website that offers free online classes and online learning tools. Academic Earth can also introduce you to universities that match your interests.

Alison.com
This is another free education service online. Alison.com offers free college-level courses for basic workforce-related skills.

Corsera
Take courses in a wide range of topics, spanning the Humanities, Medicine, Biology, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Business, Computer Science, and many others. Video content comes from many different universities with some offering certificates for completion. 

edX
edXfounded by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard University, provides free college courses from 27 of some of the top universities  around the world.

Google in Education
This part of Google is to help teachers discover resources for bringing technology into the classroom such as apps and innovative lesson plans. It also can be used as a social network for sharing lesson plans and strategies with other teachers.

Grovo
This website provides daily one-minute videos discussing and explaining the most popular tools the Internet offers.

KhanAcademy
This site provides free 10-minute instructive videos including K-12 Mathematics, sciences, and humanities subjects.

Learner.org
Annenberg Learner provides free videos for teacher advancement and classroom resources to help develop teacher abilities.

Learners TV
This site provides free downloadable videos of real classroom lectures from universities around the world on a variety of subjects.

Lectr
This site provides educational videos of teachers and professors giving lectures in a variety of subjects.

Lessonopoly
With this site you can design and share lesson plans with other teachers.

Merlot
The Multimedia Education Resource for Learning and Online Teaching is a free online resource for teachers and students to share educational and pedagogical resources with other students and teachers.

MIT Open Course
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology publishes course materials from almost all of their courses free online for public use.

Open Culture
A comprehensive, cultural and educational media site.  Contains audiobooks, ebooks, online courses, movies and other collected content.

Open Learning Initiative
OLI is a part of Carnegie Mellon University that offers free online courses to the public.

Saylor.org
Take college classes online for free with this collection of college-level courses developed by a group of college professors. After each completed course you earn a certificate acknowledging that you completed it.

Ted Talks
Ted Talks is a collection of videos from their conferences presenting "Ideas worth spreading." Each TED talk, 18 minutes in length, presents some innovative idea.

UCBerkeley Webcasts
Berkeley posts webcasts from many of their certain classroom lectures and events on campus.

Udacity
An alternative way to traditional schooling, Udacity offers interactive online courses for free. Want to make your work count? You can also pay for these classes and have it count as real college credit.

University of Reddit
The University of Reddit offers courses on a variety of subjects for free. People can sign up for courses, and teach courses, all while given the freedom to approach it as they want.

Unplug the TV
A site whose purpose is to be an healthier alternative to TV, providing a number of educational videos for viewing.

 

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.