"Archived since: Mar, 2013
Description: News articles, blogs, organizational websites, and social media related to the 2013 Supreme Court hearings and subsequent rulings for the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and California's Proposition 8.
Subject: Government - US Federal, Politics & Elections, Government - National"
"The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients. "
"Jeffrey Dickemann describes growing up as a girl in Hawaii, prior to World War II, as well as Salt Lake City and New York City during and after the war. He relates some of the experiences before and during the war period that reflected and helped him understand his sexual orientation. He describes the Depression, his father’s transfer from Pearl Harbor just before the bombing, working in the Women's Land Army in the summer as a teen during the war, rationing Victory Gardens, films, newsreels, and patriotism. He describes his developing interest in civil rights during the sixties, including experiences teaching at Merritt Junior College and leading a student group with future Black Panthers, including Huey Newton and Bobby Seale. Dickemann also discusses teaching at the University of Kansas, starting a branch of CORE [Congress of Racial Equality], and experiences with CORE in Louisiana. Also discusses his research in Native American education in Oklahoma. See also from the Gay Bears Oral History Project: Coming to Cal, 1950: oral history transcript / Mildred Dickemann; an interview conducted by William Benemann in 1996. The University Archives, The Bancroft Library, University of California, 1997. CU-484.1 no.1 "
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history."
"Featured documents reflecting the history of American lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender men and women from 1778 to the present. A project of Stonewall@NARA, the National Archives LGBTQ employee affinity group. "
"... is a collection of life histories of women who identify as lesbian, bisexual, woman-identified-woman, queer, or who prefer not to identify with sexuality categories. The project provides a complex and nuanced collective story of American lesbian history and experience. Interviews were conducted by Smith College students in Kelly Anderson's 'Documenting Lesbian Lives' course in the spring of 2010 and 2011. "
Transcripts available online
"his site gathers together information about the history of sexual minorities at Cal -- students, faculty, staff and visitors. It is designed as a gateway for further exploration into one aspect of the long and fascinating story of the University of California, Berkeley. "
"The Gay Peoples Union Collection presents digital copies of primary source materials documenting GPU and Milwaukee’s gay liberation movement. Materials were selected from the following collections held by the Division of Archives and Special Collections of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries: the Gay Peoples Union Records, GPU News, and the Eldon Murray Papers."
In this collection, we chart the story so far for gay and lesbian equality in the UK. Many of the programmes reflect the language common at the time when they were first broadcast and illustrate the changing attitudes towards homosexuality in the last 50 years.
"Most people have a clear stereotype of the urban political boss of the early 20th century, and in many ways Murray Hall, a leader of New York City’s notorious “Tammany Hall,” was its embodiment. Hall was known as a poker-playing, cigar-chomping, whiskey-drinking, “man about town.” But in one significant way, Hall departed from the stereotype: she was actually a woman (by the name of Mary Anderson) who “passed” as a man for more than a quarter century. Tragically, Hall died of untreated breast cancer and her deception was only discovered at her death in 1901. “Passing” was a strategy that some lesbians (a term that was not in use at that time) used both to avoid public condemnation and to increase their earnings so that they could live independently. It could also be an assertion of political independence—Hall managed to vote and serve as a political leader in an era when women were denied the franchise."
"The purpose of this section is to draw attention to the documents that are relevant in developing an understanding of the various issues around criminalisation of homosexuality. The documents contained in the library can be accessed by clicking on the relevant sections. Advanced search option can be used for sorting the documents based on sections and/ or country and for more specific searches based on key-words. Each document has been provided a brief overview and full text can be accessed by clicking on the indicated link."
"One of the greatest challenges for immigration attorneys, advocates, and immigrants, is to find the immigration policy memoranda, and legal decisions which will affect the outcome of their cases. Here we provide information of particular interest to LGBTQ and HIV-positive foreign nationals and their representatives."
"From the Civil War through the 1920s, there were numerous clubs, saloons, and dance halls, in New York and other American cities, known for transvestism (men or women dressing as the opposite sex), for male prostitution, or as places that catered to a “gay crowd”—meaning men and women interested in a less conventional evening’s entertainment. In the 1920s, due in part to Prohibition and the emergence of speakeasies, homosexuality became even more open. At the same time, psychologists, physicians, and social reformers had been at work for several decades attempting to study, classify, categorize, and label human sexual behavior. Working to establish “norms” for human behavior, they increasingly treated such gathering places as a danger. A 1911 report from a Chicago vice commission on “The Social Evil in Chicago” managed to mix disapproval, fascination, and paranoia, suggesting that “sex perverts” were a small minority but that their “secret language” pervaded ordinary entertainment. "
"James Justen worked for 30 years as an autoworker in Kenosha, Wisconsin, first for American Motor Corporation and then for Chrysler, before becoming active in the struggle for equal rights and benefits for gay and lesbian employees. After paying out of pocket for his domestic partner’s health insurance, Justen, who was an active member and shop steward for United Auto Workers Local 72, decided after his retirement to fight for health benefit coverage for the domestic partners of gay and lesbian workers. Although Justen, unlike many gay auto workers, did not face serious harassment while on the job, he found the struggle for equal health benefits an uphill battle. Chrysler denied his claim for equal rights, but Justen hoped to challenge their policy by encouraging another workers to challenge the unequal treatment. "
"This digital gallery is a tribute to the victims and survivors [of the Pulse Night Club shooting], and is a representation of the continuous love and support received from across the region, country and world."
"Although absent from Hollywood portrayals of the old West, homosexuality was surely a feature of life on the frontier. “The West,” observe John D’Emilio and Estelle Freedman in their history of sexuality, “provided extensive opportunities for male-male intimacy. Some men were drawn to the frontier because of their attractions to men.” Badger Clark was born in 1883 and grew up in Deadwood, South Dakota. His collection of western poems, Sun and Saddle Leather, was not published until the second decade of the 20th century. But the following verse about “The Lost Pardner” suggests a continuing—but largely forgotten—gay presence in the American West of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. "
"Several thousand items from the 1960s-90s documenting the generations of activists in the United States that fought for civil rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people, and struggled against societal stigma to end the AIDS crisis. "
A New York Public Library Digital Collection
"...provides an electronic information clearinghouse for these archival collections and other historical data about LGBT religious history for the use of historians, researchers and other interested persons. " Some resources are available online; includes an oral history archive.
"This exhibit exists to bring to light the numerous histories of queer culture on the Mount Holyoke campus and to show the necessary change over time that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer/questioning student organizations underwent. This exhibit can make no broad claims about queer people or LGBTQ+ culture -- Mount Holyoke communities are located in a specific contextual time and place that fosters the creation of particular types of organizations. This exhibit cannot account for the experiences of all LGBTQ+ MHC students throughout time, nor is it reflective of each student’s individual experience; rather it showcases organizations, events, and dialogues that these students created. In short, Persistence and Existence was assembled to showcase how the struggles that LGBTQ+ students faced influenced the ways in which they combated their oppressions through the creation of numerous groups. "
"The Queer Appalachia Oral History Project captures the diverse stories of gay, lesbian, transgender, bisexual, and questioning individuals who grew up, and/or currently live in the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) designated Central Appalachian Region, especially Eastern Kentucky. The stories collected depict the conditions of growing up queer in Appalachia, starting with the 1960s onward. Interviews include a diverse group of subjects, including medical doctors, accomplished authors, journalists, hair dressers, public health professionals and artists. Topics covered include violence and discrimination, religion, rural to urban migration, health (including HIV/AIDS, drug abuse, mental health), sexual activity, education/carrer choices, public health, and art and humanities."
The mission of the project is "to collect, preserve, and promote an active knowledge of the history, arts, and culture relevant to sexually diverse communities in metropolitan Washington DC." Select materials are available online.
"... has been documenting the history of the Central Coast of California and the institutional history of UC Santa Cruz since 1963, through oral history. This web site includes the complete catalog of our collection, oral history resources, and links to other oral history sites on the Internet. All of the oral histories are available in full text (PDF). "
This site from the PBS series American Experience contains links to primary source materials related to the Stonewall Riots in 1969 which "marked a major turning point in the modern gay civil rights movement in the United States and around the world." A photo gallery is also provided.
"Unheard Voices – a collaboration among ADL, GLSEN and StoryCorps – is an oral history and curriculum project that seeks to integrate lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) history, people and events into classroom curricula.
At the core of the program are brief audio interviews with individuals who bore witness to or helped to shape LGBT history in some way." You can listen to the interview and/or read a transcript.
"The Oral History collection currently consists of two sub-collections: the Vassar College LGBTQ Oral History Project (including interviews conducted as part of Spring 2013 Women's Studies Class WMST 219, "Queering the Archives") and the Vassar College ANTH-AFRS 386 Oral History Project."
"From the Civil War through the 1920s, in New York and other American cities, there were numerous clubs, saloons, and dance halls known for transvestism (men or women dressing as the opposite sex), for male prostitution, or as places that catered to a “gay crowd”—meaning men and women interested in a less conventional evening’s entertainment. In the 1920s, in part because of prohibition and the emergence of speakeasies, homosexuality became even more open. At the same time, psychologists, physicians, and social reformers had been at work attempting to study, classify, categorize, and label human sexual behavior. In an excerpt from his 1915 book, British physician and psychologist Havelock Ellis, a pioneer in the emerging field of human sexuality, mapped out for his readers the culture of “sexual inversion” in American cities, reflecting how practices that had long been common, or at least tolerated, were suddenly viewed as problematic. "
"Jim Justen grew up gay in Kenosha, Wisconsin during the 1950’s, a time when homosexuality was considered a criminal offense that was thought to sap the moral fiber of both the individual and the nation. Gays were subjected to the same hysteria and persecution engendered by anti-communism, and pressured to conform to mainstream cultural and gender norms. During high school, Justen hid his sexuality but ran with a rough gay crowd in his hometown of Kenosha, Wisconsin. He dealt with potential problems by learning the basics of boxing and ju jitsu and developing a tough street-fighting reputation. When he finally told his parents that he was gay at the age of 19, Justen was lucky enough to find his family accepting and supportive. "
"... collection of sixteen articles by prominent historians and their corresponding primary sources that investigate issues related to human sexuality in America from the colonial era to the present day."
Hearing before the Subcommittee on Select Education and Civil Rights of the Committee on Education and Labor, House of Representatives, One Hundred Third Congress, second session, hearing held in New York, NY, June 20, 1994.
"In the first anthology to survey the full range of gay men's autobiographical writing from Walt Whitman to the present, Gay American Autobiography draws excerpts from letters, journals, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies to provide examples of the best life writing over the last century and a half."
Love and Sex between Women in Britain from 1780 to 1970
"This groundbreaking critical anthology gathers together a wide range of primary source material on lesbian lives in the past. The material here is drawn from a diverse range of sources, including court records, newspaper reports, literary sources, writings on lesbianism from psychologists, doctors, anthropologists, as well as personal letters and journals." Amazon.com
"... author and gender studies professor Susan Burgess showcases relevant news stories, editorials, and letters to the editor to present the major political, social, and cultural issues that have affected gays and lesbians in the U.S. over the past 150 years. The book includes twelve chapters covering topics such as the Stonewall Uprising, gays in the military, youth and education, and AIDS. Each chapter features an overview of the issue at hand, introduction to each of the articles selected, and profiles of key events and personalities. This unique title allows students and researchers access to authoritative and engaging information, giving historical context to contemporary issues."