Skip to main content

Library Instruction: Working Ideas

Get help using library materials and services - as a class or as an individual - instruction is available in a variety of formats!

About the Instruction Program

About the Instruction Program

Between face-to-face contact with students, work on curriculum committees, consultation with classroom instructors, and the wide reach of many of our educational web tools, librarians reach [hundreds] of students a year.

The Libraries Instructional Program is a multi-pronged, system-wide effort designed to reach out to students in multiple ways including:

  • Orientations to the services and resources we offer
  • Walk-in workshops
  • A sequence of workshops designed to meet the needs of First Year Writing students
  • Course-related instruction and Library Course Pages designed to be integrated into course management systems, like Moodle.
  • Faculty and instructor consultation on assignments and curriculum
  • Credit-based courses
  • In-depth one-on-one consultations with undergraduate and graduate students and more

Learn more about our [efforts in the boxes below.]

Copied from University of Minnesota Libraries

See also - their page for Teaching and Learning Support which includes information about assignment consultation, course pages, workshops and integrated instruction, ebooks, archives, media, plagiairism, library exhibits, tours, and faculty seminars.

Library Instruction Program Learning Outcomes (PLOs)

Library Instruction Program Learning Outcomes (revised 2013-2014): 

PLO 1: Students will ask research questions and develop claims that are meaningful and manageable at an undergraduate level. 

PLO 2: Students will find relevant sources for their research needs using effective and appropriate strategies. 

PLO 3: Students will assess the quality of each source through a rhetorical framework (audience, purpose, genre) and evaluate its relevance to their research claim. 

PLO 4: Students will effectively integrate sources into their own writing (summarizing, paraphrasing, quoting) while acknowledging the ideas and intent of the original author/s. 

Copied from Westmont College (Voskuyl Library)

Content Modules and Delivery Method

Content Modules and Delivery Method

Effective keyword brainstorming -- face to face

Best practices for database searches -- face to face

How to read, interpret, and evaluate database results -- face to face

How to access books and articles that you find -- face to face

 

Types of information sources and their uses -- LibGuide

Evaluating resources, especially those online -- LibGuide

Finding specific items aka known item searching - LibGuide or in-person reference assistance

 

Ideas from Table 1 on page 292 of "The Librarian Leading the Machine: A Reassessment of Library Instruction Methods" by Greer, Hess, and Kraemer in the May 2016 issue of College & Research Libraries. (Article abstract with link to full text pdf)

Other Links - Helpful Material?

Other Links - Helpful Material?

Checklist for instructors preparing for the academic year - from McGill Library, Quebec

  • includes 3 months before ..., 1 month before ..., and anytime

Instructional Services from Woodruff Library at Emory, Atlanta

  • includes creating assignments, services for instructors, media options, request instruction form

Instruction Menu from McConnell Library at Radford, VA

  • includes topic and amount of time it will take (divided by type of course - basic, upper level, and course specific)

Citation Tic-Tac-Toe - Online game from JMU; identify citations correctly to win!

How can the Library support my teaching?

How can the Library support my teaching?

Librarians can partner with teaching faculty in many ways, including:

  • Teaching key information literacy skills
  • Hosting your class to guide students in finding and using library resources
  • Creating course guides with discipline-specific resources (which can be embedded into Scholar)
  • Creating library tutorials
  • Collaborating on assignment creation and library skills assessment

Librarians are also available to meet students individually or in small groups to help with research challenges.  There is a form for students to use to request this -- "Research Assistance."

--->   GVST's rubric for creating good library assignments -- see this page and link.

Copied from Grand Valley State University (Library's instruction page)

Course and/or Subject Guides (LibGuides)

Course and/or Subject Guides (LibGuides)

Share our collection of guides to help your students find discipline-specific library materials.

These guides can be embedded in your syllabus or Blackboard Scholar course.

Idea for this box came from Grand Valley State University (Library's instruction page)

Video and Interactive Tutorials

Video and Interactive Tutorials

Librarians have created several creative learning modules for information and library literacy.

These include:

Library Resources and Services tutorial - appropriate for 100 and 200 level courses

Music tutorial - appropriate for MUSC 125 students

 

Other ideas for tutorials - JournalFinder, Browsing the Books Shelves - Virtually, Building a Search Strategy, APA and MLA: anatomy of a citation, Primary v. Secondary Articles, or Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journals

Idea for this box came from Grand Valley State University (Library's instruction page)

Faculty Information Literacy ToolKit

Faculty Information Literacy ToolKit - from the University of British Columbia

Includes:

  • five fundamental research skills elements (scoping the need, finding information, evaluating information, reading information, using information)
  • ends with citation help, including this YouTube video "Why We Cite" from the University of North Carolina
Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.