Getting Started Guide: Statistical Resources: Business & Economics

"Use searchable databases to find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry."

"...promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner." Use the site to find economic indicators such as Gross Domestic Product, Gross State Product, Balance of Payments, etc.

"... is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics." Access information such as the Consumer Price Index, unemployment rates, wage information, foreign labor statistics, import/export price indexes, and more. The site has a search feature and an alphabetical index; it is also easy to locate information by browsing under the appropriate sections. In addition the site provides access to publications and research papers compiled by the BLS including Compensation and Working Conditions, Occupational Outlook Quarterly, Monthly Labor Review, and many more.

This website is provided by the Irwin/McGraw-Hill publishing company. It provides links to sources for business related statistical information, links to university resources, as well as information on commercial software and books. An online verison of Pocket Dictionary of Statistics by Hardeo Sahai/Anwer Khurshid © 2002 is provided in .pdf format. The site also provides a statistical glossary.

The FactBook is produced from information gathered for the Central Intelligence Agency. In it users will find information about countries of the world including background information, maps, geographical information, population information and more.

"Access the official Virginia population projections and estimates and our national population projections. "

CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.

The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.

EuroStat is "the Statistical Office of the European Communities, established in 1953. Our mission is to gather and analyse figures from the different European statistics offices in order to provide comparable and harmonised data to the European Institutions so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies." Data covers the European Union and its Member States and partners. The website is updated on a daily basis providing access to the latest available statistical information. Since October 1, 2004 EuroStat has been provideing "free of charge access to all its databases and electronic publications."

The Federal Reserve or the Fed is the central bank of the U.S. The website provides information about the background and development of the Federal Reserve. It also provides access to a variety of statistical information and publications . It provides both current and historical data. Access surveys, studies, etc. as well as the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Also available are educational materials, consumer information, and information on career opportunities.

This website provided by Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides links to scanned images of historical economic documents. There is a "Search for Tables" feature available or users may choose to browse through the various documents, statistics, and publications available.

"... a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. With FRED® II you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series." Users can search the database or browse using categories. This website provided by Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

"Freelunch.com is a free service provided by Moody's Economy.com, a leading independent provider of economic, financial, country, and industry research that helps businesses, governments, and professional investors worldwide meet their diverse planning and information needs."

Selected information is available for free while other requires a subscription. Trible Library does not subscribe.
"... is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."

Provides statistical information for on industries, export & import, trade, etc.

This site is provided by the Wall Street Journal:
All users have access to all of Markets Data Center's comprehensive statistics -- and they can use our mutual fund and ETF screeners and get key market data delivered by email (check out these features and others in the WSJ.com Email Signup Center). WSJ.com subscribers can personalize their Markets Data Center home page, sign up for price and volume email alerts and, of course, get full access to news and research.

This site is one of the projects of the Center on Non-Profits and Philanthropy. The site provides online access to statistical information related to charities.

NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
A wide range of economic and demographic indicators are available, across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma…)
With NationMaster you can track thousands of statistics as and when they are released. The database is composed of data from trustworthy sources such as national statistic agencies, governments, international organizations... (UNDP, UNESCO Institute for Statistics, UNCTAD, WTO, World Bank, World Health Organization, OECD and many others)

Provided by the OECD, "the key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods."

"The study began in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States. Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics. The PSID is directed by faculty at the University of Michigan, and the data are available on this website without cost to researchers and analysts."

"A guiding principle of the AEA mission is the dissemination of economics knowledge to all members of the economics community – primarily students, teachers, and professionals, but also to members of the general public who are curious about how economics is applied beneficially in the real world. The American Economic Association maintains a long and growing list of online resources that will be useful to everyone in the economics profession. Whether you're looking for lesson plan ideas, advice on grad school applications, upcoming conferences in your field, or data for a research project, you can find it here. A listing on these resource pages does not imply an AEA endorsement of that particular program or resource."

The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011, but older issues are archived.

Statistical information provided by the IRS is available on this site. Most information is in Excel format and is divided up into a variety of categories.

This database is from the Office of Trade and Industry Information, Manufacturing and Services, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce. It provides access to annual trade data. Information can be located on a state or national level. Select the options you need from the available choices and the data will be retrieved.

"The Commerce Department collects, stores, and analyzes a wealth of information, including data on the Nation’s economy, population, and environment. These data go to the core of the Department’s mission.

As America’s Data Agency, the Department of Commerce is using its data to spur innovation inside and outside the Federal Government and promote greater prosperity across the country.”

Links to statistical information on business costs, consumer spending, occupations, wages, etc.

"The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."Provided by the United Nations

"The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. With over 300 employees, The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture."

Access information on the Commonwealth's website related to starting and running a business in Virginia.

VEDP was designed "to promote economic expansion within the Commonwealth of Virginia. A private sector fifteen-member Board of Directors, appointed by the Governor, oversees all functions of the Partnership." The site provides information on starting a business in Virginia. It includes information on selecting a site, international trade, and an interactive statistical database. In addition the site has a Library area where users can access a number of useful publications, industry information, forms, and maps. The site also provides links to other useful internet pages.

Designed to help "increase the number of Virginia companies selling overseas and their volume of international business, year after year."

Access publications, data, etc. about Virginia labor.

The World Bank was created to fight poverty and improve living conditions for the developing world. The website provides information on the services provided, projects, statistics, research etc. Some of the information is available online for free, while other information requires a purchase or subscription access. Browsing through the Topics area of the site is an easy way to access information.