Skip to main content

MKTG 330 - Digital Marketing: Ideas

Dr. Matt Hettche, Spring 2017

Market the Library - Research LENS

Research LENS

Market the Library!

Be a part of the university's Research LENS - enhance efforts to
increase undergraduate research at CNU!

Use these ideas to get started.

Research Assistance Service

The Research Assistance service provides an opportunity to set up an appointment and get professional, one-on-one, in-depth research help.  If you need help finding a research-worthy topic, focusing your existing topic, finding resources to support your topic, or something else research-related, the Research Assistance service is a great option. 

Interlibrary Loan

The Trible Library has direct access to hundreds of thousands of books.  There are times, however, when a student will come across a book that is important to their research but is not owned by the Trible Library.  In those cases, we are able to use the Interlibrary Loan system to find a library that does own the book and request to borrow it for our student.  Usually within a week or two, the book will arrive and the student will be able to check it out as they would any other library book.  Interlibrary Loan also works for journal articles and other items and it’s completely free for CNU students, staff and faculty.

Books and Ebooks

Whether you prefer traditional print books or e-books, the Trible Library owns hundreds of thousands of books.  The knowledge contained within our collection provides our students with a tremendous advantage when it comes to research, not to mention the joy of reading for pleasure, and you can check out up to 50 books at a time.  Students may also benefit from learning about the process to request books during the library expansion.

Scholary Journals

Every discipline has journals where scholars from the field report their latest research and engage in thoughtful debates regarding the relevant topics of their field.  Because it’s likely that every student will find it necessary to use these journals at some point during their time at CNU, librarians are experts at helping students access these scholarly (or peer-reviewed or academic) journals and are glad to guide students in incorporating this scholarly knowledge into the student’s own work.  

Trible Library Databases

CNU has over 290 databases.  These databases provide a wealth of knowledge that includes academic or peer-reviewed articles, primary source documents, news, business reports, dissertations, trade publications, and much more.  Because of the information these databases contain, they are very valuable and are not available to the general public.  They also have more search features than an average Google search and librarians are always willing to give guidance on how to get the most out of the databases.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources (OER) are a part of a growing trend in education to use a range of freely available resources in the classroom, in some cases to replace a traditional textbook. OER aligns with the library’s commitment to make information as accessible as possible and the library staff is interested in raising awareness of OER on campus. Along those lines, the library will host events the week of March 27-31, 2017, in correspondence with Open Education Week.

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.