LibGuides: Primary Sources: Gender & Sexuality in America: Movies & TV & Radio

Online Sources: Movies & TV & Radio - Gender & Sexuality

Ad Access
more...less...
"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. "
The Interviews: An Oral History of Television (Archive of American Television)
more...less...
"...the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 750 oral history interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide. The Archive continues to produce new interviews every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history."
Internet Archive: Classic TV
Internet Archive: Classic TV Commercials
Internet Archive: Old Time Radio
Prelinger Archives
more...less...
"Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 4,000 titles on videotape and a smaller collection of film materials acquired subsequent to the Library of Congress transaction. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions" Available through the Internet Archive
Sex Madness (1938)
more...less...
"This is a typical sex exploitation film from the early 1930s - complete with wild parties, sex out of wedlock, lesbianism, etc. A chorus girl's exposure to the "casting couch" also exposes her to syphilis.

Exploitation filmmakers hoped to capitalize on the taboo subjects of venereal disease, sex before marriage, lesbianism, etc. while skirting the Motion Picture Production Code of 1930 which forbade a film from containing such content. Films like this would tour the United States for years - mostly being shown in rundown, skid row theaters. This film has been re-edited and re-titled ("Human Wreckage", "They Must Be Told", "Trial Marriage", "About Trial Marriage") many times to attract the same audience to film, to take advantage of a taboo subject which may have gotten press recently or to appease local censors who disapproved of the film's content."
“Complete Nudity Is Never Permitted”: The Motion Picture Production Code of 1930
more...less...
"Adopted in 1930 by the Association of Motion Picture Producers, the Motion Picture Production Code, excerpted below, spelled out in detail what was and was not permissible in the nation’s most popular form of entertainment. "

Girls Beware (1961)

"Girls Beware isn't just a warning against the possibility of murder, rape and abduction by strangers, but about the negative consequences of ordinary sexual activity, such as pregnancy and coming under the control of juvenile authorities. It responds with a message of fear to the strong impulses of sexual energy and adventurism that adolescents feel, and implicitly tells its young audience that society cannot offer a safe haven to independent or unguarded women."

https://archive.org/details/0840_Girls_Beware_12_42_58_00

Books & DVDs: Movies & TV & Radio - Gender & Sexuality

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

1001 classic commercials
Call Number: HF6146.T42 A154 2009
The Accused
Call Number: PN1995.9.R27 A33 2002
ISBN: 9780792181217
"A fiercely independent woman is gang raped, then battles the legal system twice, going after both her attackers and the onlookers whose cheering fueled and encouraged the assault."
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (DVD)
Call Number: PN1997.85 .C386 2006
ISBN: 079079568X
"A story of deception which is destroying a patriarchal Southern family as its members gather for the imminent demise of their "Big Daddy.""
Originally produced as a motion picture in 1958.
The Center of the World
Call Number: PN1997.2 .C39 2001
ISBN: 9789991346892
"What should have been a simple cash-for-sex arrangement sends a young computer-genius and a beautiful stripper on an emotionally shattering journey into each of their own deepest erotic fantasies. It's provocative and sensual, captured in a raw and voyeoristic image."
The Central Park Five (Ken Burns Documentary)
Call Number: HV6568.N5 C457 2013 DVD
ISBN: 1608838544
The Doris Day and Rock Hudson Comedy Collection
Call Number: PN1995.9.C55 D6757 2007
Pillow talk: Two single professionals find themselves sharing a party line - and a whole lot more - when they get their lines crossed.
Lover come back: Business gets mixed with pleasure when two advertising executives go after the same account.
Send me no flowers: A hypochrondriac gets the wrong diagnosis and decides to arrange for a 'future' husband for his very confused wife.
The Education of Shelby Knox
Call Number: HQ57.5.T4 E383 2006
ISBN: 076709073X
"Chronicles the efforts of a concerned teenager to bring sex education to the schools in her conservative Texas hometown."
I am a man
Call Number: E185.86 .I16 2006
"An exploration of "what it means to be a black man in America ... [confronting] issues of race, and racism, through the lens of gender, probing deep within the traditional American ideals of manhood in order to draw out the complex and often ambivalent nature of black male identity"--Container."
Laramie Inside Out
Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 L37 2004
ISBN: 1574481088
"Filmmaker Beverly Seckinger, a native of Laramie, Wyoming, returns to talk with students, teachers, parents, and clergy about the impact Matthew Shepard's murder has had on their community."
Latter Days
Call Number: PN1997 .L388
A promiscuous gay party animal develops a relationship with a young Mormon missionary.
Mae West: The Glamour Collection
Call Number: PN1995.9.C55 M23 2006
ISBN: 9781417069927
Midnight Cowboy
Call Number: PN1997.2 .M56 2006
ISBN: 9781424800056
Originally released as a motion picture in 1969.
Notes on a Scandal
Call Number: PN1995.9.S87 N6847 2007
"...Later, when Barbara discovers that Sheba is having a sexual relationship with a 15-year old student, Barbara realizes that knowledge of this secret gives her power over Sheba which she can use for her own purposes."
Out in the Silence
Call Number: HQ1033 .O98 2010
ISBN: 0981914942
"Filmmaker Joe Wilson returns to his hometown of Oil City, Pa., after his wedding announcement appears in his small hometown newspaper causes controversy, and he receives a plea for help from the mother of a gay teen who is being tormented in school. Challenges viewers to rethink their values and close the gaps that divide communities on this controversial issue."
Pre-code Hollywood Collection
Call Number: PN1995.9.S45 P74 2009
"Six films made before the Production Code. In 1934, Hollywood was turned upside down by the enforcement of a strict "Production Code" that would change the way movies were made for the next 34 years. But during the "pre-Code" period (1929-1934), censorship barely existed and filmmakers had free rein to make the movies they wanted and the public demanded. No subject was taboo including adultery, murder or sex."
Rent
Call Number: M1500 .R46 2009
ISBN: 9781435957671
"This film captures the last Broadway performance of the long running rock musical RENT. Loosely based on Puccini's opera "La Bohème," it tells the story of a group of impoverished young artists and musicians struggling to survive and create in New York's Lower East Side in the thriving days of Bohemian Alphabet City, under the shadow of HIV/AIDS."
Scottsboro: an American Tragedy by Barak Goodman
Call Number: KF224.S36 S36 2005
" ...The trials of the nine young men would draw North and South into their sharpest conflict since the Civil War, yield two momentous Supreme Court decisions and give birth to the civil rights movement."--Container.
The Seminarian
Call Number: PN1997.2 .S46 2011
"Ryan is a closeted gay student in his final semester of seminary studies. Despite his school's hostile stance towards homosexuality, Ryan has two gay classmates, Gerald and Anthony, in whom he secretly confides. He is also close to his religiously devout mother who is unaware of his sexual orientation. Ryan needs to complete a solid theological thesis in order to continue doctoral work at the university of his dreams. During this volatile time, Ryan struggles with holding onto his faith in love."
She Done him Wrong
Call Number: PN1995.9.C55 S491 2008
"Set in the 1890s, West plays a brash barroom entertainer with a soft spot for men in trouble, especially the mission director, young Cary Grant. She unknowingly gets caught up in a murder, as well as a white slavery ring, and sets about clearing things up as only Mae can."
A Streetcar Named Desire (Blu-Ray)
Call Number: PN1997 .S776 2012 Blu-Ray
ISBN: 0780676572
Television in American Society Reference Library by Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Allison McNeill
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781414402215
see volume 3 for primary sources
Tongues Untied
Call Number: HQ76.27.A37 T683 2008
"In an experimental amalgam of rap music, street poetry, documentary film, and dance, a gay African-American man expresses what it is like to be gay and black in the United States."
Tough Guise 2 : Violence, Manhood & American Culture
Call Number: HV6158 .T682 2013
ISBN: 9781932869910
"In this highly anticipated update of the influential and widely acclaimed Tough Guise, pioneering anti-violence educator and cultural theorist Jackson Katz argues that the ongoing epidemic of men's violence in America is rooted in our inability as a society to move beyond outmoded ideals of manhood."
Tough Guise: Violence, Media, and the crisis in Masculinity
Call Number: BF692.5 .T68 2002
ISBN: 1893521664
"Looks systematically at the relationship between the images of popular culture and the social construction of masculine identities in the U.S. at the end of the 20th century. Jackson Katz argues that there is a crisis in masculinity and that some of the guises offered to men as a solution (e.g., rugged individualism, violence) come loaded with attendant dangers to women, as well as other men."

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.