LibGuides: Primary Sources: World War I: England/U.K.

Online Sources: England/U.K. WWI

Diaries of Eileen Younghusband, 1917-1930
more...less...
"Eileen Younghusband’s diaries cover a transitional period in her life, beginning with her wartime childhood in Wimbledon and ending as she started her career as a tutor at the London School of Economics. They cover her ambivalent relationship with post-war ‘High Society’, growing interest in politics and issues of social justice, first steps towards social work (through the Whitechapel Care Committee and Bermondsey Princess Club) and education at the LSE, as well as the routine of daily life (particularly with regard to shopping, socialising and travelling)."
First World War 100: Conflict and Commemoration
more...less...
"To mark the 100th anniversary of the First World War, 100 documents from the Modern Records Centre's archives were digitised and made available online.

From the soldier on the front line to the imprisoned conscientious objector, the woman worker to the wounded ex-serviceman, the sources provide an insight into the far-reaching effects of four years of 'total war' on Britain and its society."
The First World War: Sources for History
more...less...
"This exhibition makes available an online selection of unique and richly varied source material on the First World War, set in its historical context."
From the British National Archives
First World War records
more...less...
"... the official UK government records of the First World War, including a vast collection of letters, diaries, maps and photographs."
Focus on Film
more...less...
"This site presents film as a historical source and considers its advantages and disadvantages as evidence for the past. Like all historical sources films must be investigated and evaluated carefully. How far do they present an accurate record of an event and how far do they reflect the views of the film-maker, or indeed, the sponsor of the film?" Click the Film Archives for clips. From the British National Archives
How to Look for Records of the First World War
more...less...
"This is a brief guide to researching British government and military records of the First World War. First World War records are wide-ranging and are kept in a variety of archives. This guide will help you gain a general overview of the main sources of the information that exists, and where to find it."
Kipling Praises Work of Y.M.C.A.
more...less...
NYT interview with Kipling & his wife
Newfoundlanders and Labradorians in the First World War
more...less...
Includes primary and secondary materials related to New Foundland and Labradorians in the war.
The Sykes-Picot Agreement : 1916
more...less...
Treaty between Britain and France regarding the areas of post-war control in the Middle East.
Unit War Diaries
more...less...
"For researchers and family historians, the war diaries contain a wealth of information of far greater interest than the army could ever have predicted. They provide unrivalled insight into daily events on the front line, and are full of fascinating detail about the decisions that were made and the activities that resulted from them. War diaries are still kept by the armed services to this day, and historical war diaries such as these are still referred to."

Our Wonderful Wounded

King George V and Queen Mary pay a visit to convalescent WWI soldiers at Bath in this Topical Budget newsreel.

Provided by the British Film Institute

Book Sources: England/U.K. WWI

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

British Battles of World War I, 1914-15 by Tim Coates
Call Number: D546 .B753 2000
ISBN: 0117024473
"First published as Naval and Military Despatches, 1914, 1915, 1916"
Part of the Uncovered Editions series.
British Documents on Foreign Affairs by Christopher Seton-Watson
Call Number: JZ632 .B756 1990
ISBN: 0890936137
Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series F, Europe, 1919-1939
v. 1-3. Central Europe -- v. 4-9. Italy and south-eastern Europe -- v. 10-15. Southern Europe, Italy, Balkan States and Danubian States --v. 16-23. France -- v. 24. Portugal -- v. 25-27. Spain -- v. 28. The Netherlands -- v. 29-30. Belgium and Luxemburg -- v. 31-50. Germany -- v. 51-58. Poland -- v. 59-67. Scandinavia and Baltic States.
British Documents on the Origins of the War, 1898-1914 by G.P. Gooch, editor
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Vols. 1-10
British Government, 1914-1953 : Select Documents by G.H.L. Le May
Call Number: JN231 .L45 1955
Lord Kitchener and Winston Churchill: The Dardanelles Commission by Stationery Office (Great Britain)
Call Number: D568.3 .L674 2000 v. 1
ISBN: 0117024236
Part of the Uncovered Editions series
pt. 1. 1914-15
Revolt in the Desert by T. E. Lawrence
Call Number: D568.4.L423 R4
"... an account of the experiences of one remarkable British officer's war from his own perspective."
Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Triumph by T. E. Lawrence
Call Number: D568.4 .L39 1935
"... an account of the Arab Revolt against the Turks during the First World War alongside general Middle Eastern and military history, politics, adventure and drama. It is also a memoir of the soldier known as “Lawrence of Arabia.” Lawrence was a fascinating and controversial figure whose talent as a vivid and imaginative writer shines through on every page of this, his masterpiece. "
T.E. Lawrence in War and Peace: An Anthology of the Military Writings... by T. E. Lawrence
Call Number: D568.4 .L428 2005
ISBN: 1853676535
"This collection includes Lawrence's wartime reports from the desert, along with later writings in which Lawrence attempts to cope with the consequences of war in the circumstances of peace. "
The World Upturning: Elsie Henry's Irish Wartime Diaries, 1913-1919 by Clara Cullen
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781908928146
The Times Documentary History of the War by The Times, London
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Publication Date: 1917-20

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.