LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Psychology: Tests & Measures

Things to Know

Most tests are produced commercially and are not available for free.

Books, journal articles & dissertations may contain information about tests, reviews/critiques, actual tests or provide information on where to find the test.

You may need to look in multiple places to find information about a particular test.

Books - Used to Locate & Evaluate Tests

books

A selection of books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

ebook

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

The ... Mental Measurements Yearbook
Call Number: BF431 .M46
ISBN: 9780910674607
Provides reviews of standardized tests used in psychology, education and industry. The library has yearbooks beginning with the 4th book.
Instructions for use

Test Reviews Online can be used to locate the volume your test is in.
Don't pay for it! We have the books in the library.
A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests by Esther Strauss et al.
Call Number: RC386.6.N48 S67 2006
ISBN: 0195159578
"... is intended to serve as a guidebook that provides a comprehensive overview of the essential aspects of neuropsychological assessment practice. Second, it is intended as a comprehensive sourcebook of critical reviews of major neuropsychological assessment tools for the use by practicing clinicians and researchers."
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by Bert A. Goldman
Call Number: BF431 .G624/BF431 .G625
ISBN: 143380137X
A directory of tests not currently published commercially. Each entry provides information for locating the test, usually within a journal article. The instruments are not evaluated, however, it often gives information on related research to consult.
(Cover courtesy of Open Library http://openlibrary.org/isbn/0689715714)
The ETS Test Collection Catalog by Educational Testing Service
Call Number: LB3051 .E79 1986
ISBN: 0897742486
The availability section notes where the test can be located.
v. 1. Achievement tests and measurement devices -- v. 2. Vocational tests and measurement devices -- v. 3. Tests for special populations --v. 4. Cognitive aptitude and intelligence tests -- v. 5. Attitude tests -- v. 6. Affective measures and personality tests.
Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures by Carole A. Beere.
Call Number: HM253 .B43 1990
ISBN: 0313262780
Typical entries include items such as: Title, Author(s), date, variable(s) , description; sample items, scoring information; reliability and validity; and a listing of published studies that use the measure.
Handbook of Multicultural Measures by Glenn C. Gamst et al.
Call Number: HM1271 .G36 2011
ISBN: 1412978831
Typical entries include items such as: Title, Author(s), date, variable(s) , description; sample items, scoring information; reliability and validity; and a listing of published studies that use the measure.
Psychological Assessment in the Schools by James C. Impara and Linda L. Murphy
Call Number: BF432.C48 B87 1994
ISBN: 091067437X
Reviews are compiled from the Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Covers: Achievement, Adaptive Behavior, Intelligence, Perceptual functioning, Personality, Preschool functioning, Vocational interests, etc. --Miscellaneous
Questionnaires and Inventories by Lewis R. Aiken
Call Number: BF176 .A483 1997
ISBN: 0471168718
"Critically reviews most commercially available questionnaires and inventories" also contains samples.
Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures by Carole A. Beere
Call Number: BF692 .B38 1990
ISBN: 0313274622
Describes 197 scales related to sex and gender issues. the Available From section provides information on locating items.
Test Critiques by Daniel J. Keyser & Richard C. Sweetland
Call Number: BF176 .T419 1984
ISBN: 0890795967
Provides reviews of various tests.
Instructions for use
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business
Call Number: BF176 .T43
ISBN: 0890797072
Presents concise descriptions and covers thousands of assessments.
Tests in Print
Call Number: BF431 .T47
ISBN: 0910674590
"Detailed descriptions of each test include specific data on its purpose, target population, scoring, and pricing. Indexes of test titles, publishers, acronyms, and subject classifications are provided as well as notations on out-of-print tests." Includes references to the Mental Measurement Yearbooks.
Instructions for use

Trible Library Catalog Search

Databases - Tests & Measures

Tips:

If you are searching for a particular test title, put the title in quotes (i.e. "Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory")

If you get too many results, try using the various search limits available in the databases

Look for words such as: analysis, interpretation, reliability, validity, etc.

Try using some of the subjects listed in the online catalog box above to search the databases

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
ERIC via Free Government Site This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: Free
Educational Resources Information Center. A computerized version of Research in Education(RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). CIJE indexes over 750 professional journals. RIE indexes the recent report literature related to the field of education. Check the Journal Finder to locate journal articles (EJ) [Search by journal title, not article title].
PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new window
"The PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS) is an extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs although it is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans."
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVAIt covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for all journals in the collection. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1965 for some titles.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychology Databases by APA via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVAProvides the ability to search PsycArticles, PsycTests, PsycExtra and PsycInfo together.
PubMed (with Journal Finder) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Using Journal Finder in PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVADescriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration, mostly drawn from articles in peer-reviewed journals or books, with downloadable tests. The Master Test Profile summarizes the test and provides purpose and construct; records for development, review, or use provide additional details.72% of test records contain the actual test or test items.

Internet Resources - Tests & Measures

Association of Test Publishers (ATP) - Members
more...less...
provides links to test publishers
Buros Index for Tests Test Reviews Online can be used to locate the volume your test is in. Don't pay for it! We have the books in the library.Ask for help if you have trouble finding reviews or see https://cnu.libguides.com/gspsychology/tests for more information!
more...less...
Note: The Library does not subscribe to the full-text version of the review database. However, users may consult the database and use it as an index to locate reviews in The Mental Measurements Yearbook and other Buros publications, many of which are available in the Reference section of the Library.
Communication Research Measures
more...less...
"These are measures that have been developed by researchers who are, or at one time were, faculty members or graduate students at West Virginia University. They were developed for use by researchers and may be used for research or instructional purposes with no individualized permission. There is no cost for this use. Please cite the source(s) noted at the bottom of the measure when publishing articles based on research using these instruments."
Depression Anxiety Stress Scales (DASS)
more...less...
"The DASS is a 42-item self report instrument designed to measure the three related negative emotional states of depression, anxiety and tension/stress.
The DASS questionnaire is in the public domain, and may be downloaded from this website.
The DASS manual contains more detailed information about the DASS, and may be ordered for a nominal fee of $55.00." University of New South Wales - Australia
ETS
more...less...
Is "the world's largest private educational testing and measurement organization and a leader in educational research." The site provides information on testing programs and test preparation, including access to some free study and practice materials. Also provides access to research and statistical information. A store is available on the site for purchasing educational products, software, etc.
Finding Information About Psychological Tests (APA)
more...less...
"The APA Science Directorate answers hundreds of calls and emails each year from persons trying to locate the right test or find more information about psychological tests. APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests. Answers to frequently asked questions are provided here."
International Personality Item Pool
more...less...
"... is intended to provide rapid access to measures of individual differences, all in the public domain, to be developed conjointly among scientists worldwide."
Keirsey
more...less...
"Keirsey Assessments are the product of more than seven decades of research on human behavior. The Keirsey Temperament model first appeared in the bestselling books, Please Understand Me® and Please Understand Me II, by Dr. David Keirsey. Our tools have been translated into 18 different languages, and has been used by over 50 million people from 140 different countries. The Keirsey Assessments are the most widely utilized temperament and personality assessments in the world. "
Measurement Tools
more...less...
A list of links from Columbia University's Evidence Based Practice & Policy Online Resource Training Center
National Center for PTSD - Assessment
more...less...
"This section provides information on how PTSD is diagnosed."
Tests Reviewed in The Mental Measurements Yearbook Series

Important!

Commercially Published Tests
If you decide to purchase a test from a publisher -
You will be responsible for any and all costs associated with the purchase
Cite Your Source
Remember to cite your source for the test, no matter how you obtain it.
Failing to cite where you obtained the testing material is plagiarism!