LibGuides: Primary Sources: The American West: Literature

Online Sources: Literature - The American West

Annie Oakley Comic Book (Internet Archive)
Dale Evans - Comic Books (Internet Archive)
Gene Autry - Comic Books (Internet Archive)
Roy Rogers - Comic Books (Internet Archive)
Snow College - Saga of The Sanpitch
more...less...
"Stories and poems about early Southern Utah Pioneers. Contains volumes 1-30."
Wild Bill Hickok Comics (Internet Archive)
Zane Grey Books at HathiTrust

Book Sources: Literature - The American West

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

The Best Short Stories of Bret Harte by Bret Harte
Call Number: PS1822 .L5 1947
Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder by Laura Ingalls Wilder
Call Number: Varies
The Collected Writings of Frederic Remington by Peggy Samuels (Editor); Harold Samuels (Editor)
Call Number: PS2695 .R72 1979
ISBN: 0385130503
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
The Leatherstocking Tales by James Fenimore Cooper
Call Number: PS1402 1985
ISBN: 0940450208
v. 1. The pioneers, or The sources of the Susquehanna. The last of the Mohicans. The prairie -- v. 2. The pathfinder, or The inland sea. The deerslayer, or The first war-path.
Letters and Journals vols. 1-4 by James Fenimore Cooper
Call Number: PS1431.A3 B368 1960
v. 1. 1800-1830.--v. 2. 1830-1833.--v. 3. 1833-1839.--v. 4. 1840-1844.
Letters of Mari Sandoz by Mari Sandoz
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - EBSCO
ISBN: 9780803242067
Covers 1928-1966
The Log of the Cowboy by Andy Adams
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
Call Number: PS3563.A319 L6 1985
ISBN: 0671504207
Bestselling winner of the 1986 Pulitzer Prize, "Lonesome Dove" is an American classic.
My Father, Owen Wister by Fanny Kemble Wister,
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
and ten letters written by Owen Wister to his mother during his first trip to Wyoming in 1885
My Ántonia by Willa Cather
Call Number: PS3505.A87 M9
The Poet Scout by Captain Jack Crawford
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Riders of the Purple Sage by Zane Grey
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Roughing It by Mark Twain
Call Number: PS1318 .A1 1996b
ISBN: 0195114019
foreword, Shelley Fisher Fishkin ; introduction, George Plimpton ; afterword, Henry B. Wonham.
Selected Letters of Bret Harte by Bret Harte; Gary Scharnhorst (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - EBSCO
ISBN: 9780806128979
The Selected Letters of Laura Ingalls Wilder by William Anderson; Laura Ingalls Wilder
Call Number: PS3545.I342 Z48 2016
ISBN: 0062419684
Shorty's Yarns by Bruce Kiskaddon
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Western Stories and Poems of Bruce Kiskaddon/ illustrations by Katherine Field ; edited and with an introduction by Bill Siems.
The Virginian (ebook) by Owen Wister
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
The Virginian : A Horseman of the Plains (print book) by Owen Wister
Call Number: PS3345 .V8 1929
Western Trails: A Collection of Short Stories by Mary Austin
Call Number: PS3501.U8 A6 1987b
ISBN: 087417127X
Westward the Women by Vicki Piekarski (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - EBSCO
ISBN: 9780826310637
An Anthology of Western Stories by Women

Search for More

Suggested Authors