Primary Sources: Math, Medicine, Science & the Environment: Environment

"Aldo Leopold is considered by many to have been the most influential conservation thinker of the 20th Century. Leopold's legacy spans the disciplines of forestry, wildlife management, conservation biology, sustainable agriculture, restoration ecology, private land management, environmental history, literature, education, esthetics, and ethics."

"Digital Collections presents a unique environment to discover, explore, and virtually experience digitized and born-digital assets from the American Museum of Natural History’s Collections. Within these collections, users will find educational resources, scientific research, current and historic photographic imagery and films, artworks and rare book illustrations, archival collections, and Museum memorabilia."

"Climate files is an archival database of news, information and documents. The information compiled there is collected from various sources and is based on more more than 20 years of research and data collection. These files explore in detail the people and institutions that have delayed policy action on climate change and denied climate science."

"The Environment & Society Portal is a gateway to open access resources on the human-environment relationship" Find virtual exhibits, a multimedia library, Arcadia (open access journal) and more.

"The partners - the North Carolina State University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center, the Biltmore Company in Asheville, the Forest History Society in Durham, and the University of North Carolina at Asheville - established this web site to provide access to digital collections of rare and unique items for the general public, students and scholars."

"Marjory Stoneman Douglas (1890-1998) was one of South Florida's premier personalities of the twentieth century. Douglas' importance as a female writer and reporter of both local and national significance is further impacted by her pioneering role as an environmental and political activist. As a writer and reporter, she enjoyed a distinguished career first as an assistant editor for the Miami Herald and later as an O. Henry Award winning short story writer and novelist. Her most popular and acclaimed work, the Everglades: River of Grass, a Natural and Historical Guide to the Famed Florida Wetlands, raised public consciousness about the need to conserve and reclaim the Everglades as a priceless and critically balanced natural environment.

Selected photographs, correspondence, and other materials from the Marjory Stoneman Douglas Papers have been digitized and are available online. "

A collection of digitized resources focusing on Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. Collections include: Rising Flood Waters: 1964 Corvallis, Historic Wildfire Photograph Collection, The Gifford Photographic Digital Collection, etc.

An agency of the U.S. Government, the EPA's mission "is to protect human health and the environment." The EPA webpage provides access to news, laws, regulations and other resources about the environment.